No sound

A place to ask all newbie questions and not get flamed, though you will get beaten down if you post a newbieish question outside of these walls.
Post Reply
Steve-0
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 12:43 am

No sound

Post by Steve-0 » Sat Nov 03, 2007 2:35 am

Home version installed on F for the second time.
All the help I found didn't worked so I decided to start clean.

This is what I have.

modprobe snd_intel8x0 xbox=1
returns can't locate module.

lsmod shows snd_intel8x0

Is there a simple way to get this up and running?
Has any one go this to work out of the box?

orochi
Gentoox Guru!
Posts: 606
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2004 8:11 am

Post by orochi » Sat Nov 03, 2007 5:41 am

although i dont remember the command exactly, but you wanna search the forums for something to the effect of

emerge xbox-alsa
or
emerge alsa-xbox

Steve-0
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 12:43 am

No sound

Post by Steve-0 » Sat Nov 03, 2007 12:32 pm

Last time I ran Magic and then
Emerge alsa-driver-xbox
Didnt work.

From what I understand there are two way to use alsa
Are both methods supported ob the xbox?

Steve-0
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 12:43 am

Update

Post by Steve-0 » Wed Nov 07, 2007 1:47 pm

Sound was working out of the box ... I changed the driver away from ALSA in Mplayer and bingo.
This is while I was testing on a composite setting standard def TV using the standard xbox supplied cable standard audio output.

Have it connect to the HD TV in 420P mode now.
How do I enable digital audio? using optical cable.

Digital Audio works fine with XBMC

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest