command prompt still after login

A place to ask all newbie questions and not get flamed, though you will get beaten down if you post a newbieish question outside of these walls.
Post Reply
angelburn
Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 5:44 am

command prompt still after login

Post by angelburn » Wed Apr 18, 2007 11:11 pm

ok ive got a hardmodded xbox with a xenium gold and 250 gig hard drive i tried using a dvd (cus it wont read cds) and it took forever and wouldnt boot so i then tried ftp and f drive installation well this worked partially i got to the login screen after i did everything it asked and after loging in im still in a terminal type setting no GUI? so anyone know what im doing wrong?

orochi
Gentoox Guru!
Posts: 606
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2004 8:11 am

Post by orochi » Thu Apr 19, 2007 12:38 am

You probably installed Gentoox Pro, if you want a gui, install Gentoox Home (or run magic and choose to install X, but save yourself some time and use Home instead :D)

angelburn
Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 5:44 am

Post by angelburn » Thu Apr 19, 2007 12:49 am

no i downloaded home ive got it here on my desktop... i dunno whats up can i reinstall with ftp? do i need to delete the files from before and just redo everything and try that cus maybey i messed up something in install it could be... im not very experianced ill admit.

orochi
Gentoox Guru!
Posts: 606
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2004 8:11 am

Post by orochi » Thu Apr 19, 2007 1:14 am

I assume you did something loosely modeled after this

http://shallax.com:2000/ftp/README.htm

angelburn
Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 5:44 am

Post by angelburn » Thu Apr 19, 2007 2:12 am

sorry to waiste ur time asking stupid questions i got it working it was something i did in setup i just ftp'd the files back over and redid startup actually im using it right now!and this is quite impressive i must say kde is running pretty damn good for only 64 megs of ram. one thing though is there any way i can change the fan speen on here?

orochi
Gentoox Guru!
Posts: 606
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2004 8:11 am

Post by orochi » Thu Apr 19, 2007 5:20 am

/etc/init.d/fanctl and its config file /etc/conf.d/fanctl might be what you are looking for

xboxtemp is a good one too

angelburn
Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 5:44 am

Post by angelburn » Thu Apr 19, 2007 6:04 am

ok cool thanx that works alot better i think! ok now i think i have one more question emerge
its not working or something when i try to download a package it says error the above package contains pacakages which cannot be installed on the same system at the same time? huh.... anything i can do about this?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest