ipod on gentoo

A place to ask all newbie questions and not get flamed, though you will get beaten down if you post a newbieish question outside of these walls.
Post Reply
b18sol
Linux User
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 6:00 pm

ipod on gentoo

Post by b18sol » Mon Sep 19, 2005 7:39 pm

Hi all. Im a total noob to linux and I been trying to get my ipod to work with gentoo. Yes I did the search options and I been trying what the tuts say but I really Dont understand alot of it. I havent been able to compile the source for gtkpod and I havent been able to get anything to work. I think that gentoo reconises my ipod as a floppy i may be incorrect on that but thats what it seemed like to me. Any help would be much apriciated(sp?).

b18sol
Linux User
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 6:00 pm

Post by b18sol » Mon Sep 19, 2005 7:52 pm

ok i think i know how to emerge stuff now. I tried emerge gtk pod and this read thing came up that says
!!! ARCH is not set.... Are you missing the /etc/make.profile symlink?
!!! Is the symlink correct? Is your portage link complete?
As im I a total noob this throws me completly off and I have no idea how to chnage or six this.

vplayer
1337
Posts: 442
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2004 11:06 pm
Location: USA

Post by vplayer » Mon Sep 19, 2005 11:59 pm

emerge sync

and also do a search sometimes that will help in this site.
Box: XBOX ver 1.1
Mod: Xecutor 2.3 lite+
Hdd: WD 80GB
Dash: Evox, Ava, XBMC
Linux: Gentoox Pro 4.2

b18sol
Linux User
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 6:00 pm

Post by b18sol » Tue Sep 20, 2005 7:44 am

i did do a search and i was still lost thats why i posted. I did the emerge gtkpod and it did its stuff for a min then went back to were i can type again in the terminol so im guessing it downloaded. were do I find programs that i emerge?

b18sol
Linux User
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 6:00 pm

Post by b18sol » Tue Sep 20, 2005 9:43 am

scratch above post i got gtkpod running.

b18sol
Linux User
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 6:00 pm

Post by b18sol » Tue Sep 20, 2005 9:53 pm

ok now im havin new probloms with mounting and possibly setting up my kernel
Device Drivers > USB support:
<*> Support for Host-side USB
<M> UHCI HCD (most Intel and VIA) support
<*> USB Mass Storage support
Device Drivers > SCSI device support:
<*> SCSI device support
[*] legacy /proc/scsi/ support
<*> SCSI disk support
thats what i got from a tut of another post's link. i dont think all that is exact to what it says in the menu option but i went into my scsi support part i cant find the leagcy /proc/scsi/ support and i cant find the UHCI HCD support under the usb support part. am i looking in the right areas?
then i found another tut to try and it told me to mkdir /mnt/ipod and that seemed to work then
/dev/sda2 /mnt/ipod vfat defaults,user,noauto 0 0 then i got a message saying Bash: /dev/sda2 permission is denied
help please!!

b18sol
Linux User
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 6:00 pm

Post by b18sol » Tue Sep 20, 2005 11:29 pm

HOORAYY i got it to werk i dont now exactly how but it did work.

User avatar
clpalmer
Power user
Posts: 288
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2005 6:38 pm

Post by clpalmer » Wed Sep 21, 2005 3:11 pm

hehehe =) Let a linux noob poke and prod his way around for long enough and chances are he'll figure it out himself. That's how I learned most of what I know =)

b18sol
Linux User
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 6:00 pm

Post by b18sol » Thu Sep 22, 2005 9:51 am

ok for some reason i cant unmount the ipod after im done using it. only un mount comands i seen are:
umount /mnt/ipod
# umount /mnt/ipod_root
Is there any other unmounting commands or other ways to umount? I tryed searching the net but havent really came up with much but I could just be searching for the wrong things. And is there a good web site out there were i can look and see what other commands there are so I can get a feel and an idea what kind of magical things i can do in the scary terminol.

vplayer
1337
Posts: 442
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2004 11:06 pm
Location: USA

Post by vplayer » Thu Sep 22, 2005 11:23 am

are you getting an error message with umount. are you running the command as root.
Box: XBOX ver 1.1
Mod: Xecutor 2.3 lite+
Hdd: WD 80GB
Dash: Evox, Ava, XBMC
Linux: Gentoox Pro 4.2

b18sol
Linux User
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 6:00 pm

Post by b18sol » Thu Sep 22, 2005 10:47 pm

yes i believe so. because once i log in as root in the terminol i never log out and whenever i open up a new one i make sure its the first thing I do. and yes I am getting an error with the unmount.

b18sol
Linux User
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2005 6:00 pm

Post by b18sol » Fri Sep 23, 2005 12:05 am

im a freakin idiot i didnt relise the whole time to unmount its umount and not unmount lol thanx for everbodys help though and i have a feeling i maybe back asking some more retarded questions.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest