getting stardust to install off hdd

A place to ask all newbie questions and not get flamed, though you will get beaten down if you post a newbieish question outside of these walls.
tewy
Linux User

getting stardust to install off hdd

Post by tewy »

hi guys im new to gentoox and am having trouble installing .v1.0 xb x2.2lite,with latest cromwell,boots to cromwell fine does all checks fine but when extrcting roottfs it crashes at 19%have tried a few different disks but still same prob same place,have tried all installs e,f and native,but each crash at 19%,i have 200 gig but read it could b bcause of that so tried e,so i tried to install by ftping files over to e drive but when cromwell starts the only icon i can choose is the cd the hdd is dulled out how do i get it to load off hdd do i need a different bios/loader
tewy
Linux User

loader

Post by tewy »

have just tried loader v4 but hdd is still not highlighted neither is sparkle, only cd rom to boot stardust any help,only have thompson drive so am limited to media i can burn it to
lotw
Pro

Re: getting stardust to install off hdd

Post by lotw »

tewy wrote:hi guys im new to gentoox and am having trouble installing .v1.0 xb x2.2lite,with latest cromwell,boots to cromwell fine does all checks fine but when extrcting roottfs it crashes at 19%have tried a few different disks but still same prob same place,have tried all installs e,f and native,but each crash at 19%,i have 200 gig but read it could b bcause of that so tried e,so i tried to install by ftping files over to e drive but when cromwell starts the only icon i can choose is the cd the hdd is dulled out how do i get it to load off hdd do i need a different bios/loader