Webserver help

A place to ask all newbie questions and not get flamed, though you will get beaten down if you post a newbieish question outside of these walls.
Post Reply
EuX
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2004 2:22 am

Webserver help

Post by EuX » Mon Apr 05, 2004 2:33 am

I set the webserver up runnign Apache2, but its running off an internal ip, and I'm not sure howto make it run off my ip so people can connect to it. I don't know if this sounds right, I don't know much about linux, or servers. Any help is apreciated, thank you.

Code-X
Novice
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2004 11:36 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by Code-X » Mon Apr 05, 2004 3:28 pm

If you have a router just set a Port Forward rule to the Xbox IP on port 80. then all connections on port 80 to your main IP will goto the Xbox.
Code The Future

User avatar
nobspangle
Gentoox Guru!
Posts: 1681
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2003 11:59 am
Location: Manchester, UK

Post by nobspangle » Mon Apr 05, 2004 9:24 pm

You also need to add an entry to your hosts file or change the server name in /etc/apache2/conf/apache2.conf
If you keep an open mind, will your brain fall out?

EuX
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2004 2:22 am

Post by EuX » Tue Apr 06, 2004 3:01 am

Okay, I forwarded the ports, but it still wasn't working correctly so I moved on to what nobspangle said. I'm pretty sure that I must take the '#' out of #servername localhost, right? Well, I did, but when I save it it says I don't have permission. I don't know howto get permission on the text editor. Please help, thank you.

User avatar
nobspangle
Gentoox Guru!
Posts: 1681
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2003 11:59 am
Location: Manchester, UK

Post by nobspangle » Tue Apr 06, 2004 7:08 am

You don't have to set the server name, it's just easier and will get rid of the can't find canonical hostname error.

Use nano to open the file like this

Code: Select all

su -
<enter your root password>
nano /etc/apache2/conf/apache2.conf
make your changes then press ctrl+x to exit, y to save and enter to accept the filename.
then restart apache using "/etc/init.d/apache2 restart" and if it's all working you can hit ctrl+d to return to the gentoox user
If you keep an open mind, will your brain fall out?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest