my xbox wont recognize my burned copy of gentoox

Ask questions regarding Gentoox, Gentoo and Linux in general in these forums and we'll do our best to help you!
Hazard_tb3

my xbox wont recognize my burned copy of gentoox

Post by Hazard_tb3 »

:!: i have done the whole mech install thing and its all good but when i burn the gentooX to a cd my xbox cant recognize it i used a Memorex cd-rw 700mb 80min. 4x , do you know if the problem is the brand of cd or type of cd or the options i used when i burned it?my xbox has no mods on it exept the mech install thing. and it DOES say linux where it used to say xbox live, as of now when i enter the LINUX menu there is a pinguin and a bunch of words come up but when they are finished i cant do anything at all.

ps. i used nero to burn but i am unsure if i used the right options in burning it

please help with detailed text ........im new at this
here's to your HELLth
nobspangle
Gentoox Guru!

Post by nobspangle »

you cannot use mechasualt to install gentoox, you need to mod your box first (modchip, tsop flash, or font/audio hack)
If you keep an open mind, will your brain fall out?
Hazard_tb3

Post by Hazard_tb3 »

i dont know anything about that but what mod can i use with out any hardware changes cuz i dont have any money :( so the cd is probly good? what do i need to install gentoox ? help please
here's to your HELLth
nobspangle
Gentoox Guru!

Post by nobspangle »

if you don't want to buy anything and you can do a bit of soldering use the tsop flash.
If you want a software only mod use the font/audio hack but this isn't the place to find out about it try xbox-scene for details
Last edited by nobspangle on Sun Jan 25, 2004 2:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
If you keep an open mind, will your brain fall out?
Skunkalaxy
Linux User

Post by Skunkalaxy »