you need to update portage

Ask questions regarding Gentoox, Gentoo and Linux in general in these forums and we'll do our best to help you!
Post Reply
User avatar
roadrash
Pro
Posts: 91
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2003 5:52 pm
Location: Huntingdon, England

you need to update portage

Post by roadrash » Tue Sep 02, 2003 12:18 pm

When i ran emerge sync i got the message that a new version was available and that it was recomended i upgrade.
I searched the gentoo forum & others and found that I need to log in as root & type the following to update portage:

cd /user/portage
scripts/bootstrap.sh

I tried this and it seemed to work although it took a long time.
when finished I ran emerge sync again and the update message had gone so i guess it was sucessful.

Just to be sure can someone confirm what I did was correct and was it really important to update portage

eentelf
Linux User
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2003 7:30 pm

Post by eentelf » Tue Sep 02, 2003 8:39 pm

i ran

#emerge -up system

# emerge -u system

#etc-update

not saying it's right or wrong but that got me there too.

User avatar
roadrash
Pro
Posts: 91
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2003 5:52 pm
Location: Huntingdon, England

Post by roadrash » Tue Sep 02, 2003 9:01 pm

Yeah you might be right cos i tried the update to portage on my 2nd xbox using the same method as b4 and this time it took 8 hours and still gave me the message that portage needs updating and i had to type "emerge portage" to get rid of it so the: cd /user/portage & scripts/bootstrap.sh doesnt seem to be the answer. funny how it worked in less than an hour the first time.
I think i'll redoo gentoox on one of my xboxes and try the method you suggest.

User avatar
roadrash
Pro
Posts: 91
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2003 5:52 pm
Location: Huntingdon, England

Post by roadrash » Wed Sep 03, 2003 12:47 am

Just tried it on my second xbox and eentelf you were spot on, it works a lot faster (about 7 mins).

Thanks a lot mate

User avatar
ShALLaX
Site Admin
Posts: 1973
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 9:25 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Post by ShALLaX » Thu Sep 04, 2003 1:03 am

cd /user/portage
scripts/bootstrap.sh

^^^^ God no, dont run that!!! You only run that if youre building from stage 1 (which no one is because ive already done it!). To update portage, just run "emerge -u portage"

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest