New HDTV and Focus support

Talk about anything related to Gentoox or Gentoo.
HotAZxBox

New HDTV and Focus support

Post by HotAZxBox »

I wanted to let you know that I, for one, appreciate your hard work! I am a newbie to Linux and have a v 1.5 box. I've read just about everything on your site and had Gentoox running before on it (minus console video obviously). I will be re-installing Gentoox when I get home this afternoon and will let you know if I break anything (being a newbie, I'm sure I will).

Again, thanks for your hard work!
HotAZxBox

"You know your in Arizona when you turn on the AC to use your fireplace"
agentdavo

Same here!

Post by agentdavo »

Well said. Where do we send donations, you so deserve something. Xbox linux would be the same wouthout you! ::: praise bit over :::

I'm just running magic to get the latest stuffs. I have a projector that can accept hdtv so i'll test xbvset. I'll let you know how i get on.

*** Shallax, i can give you ssh/vnc, and a webcam feed for testing if you like, over this coming weekend, as i'm not home. :-)

Davo.

Nottingham, UK.
HotAZxBox

Update from a v1.5

Post by HotAZxBox »

ShALLaX, I just wanted to give you an update on my experiences.

First, the issue you have fixed I see in other posts (the xbv update was over-written).

So, onto the second issue. The xbe has garbled video, obviously trying to run in a different video mode than the Focus allows, and also looks to get corrupted after a shutdown. Each time I shut down, I have to re-copy the gentooxx.xbe back to my e: partition. I've kinda gotten around this by using the Debian xbe (sorry).

And last, I still have a huge overscan issue. I know you don't have a v 1.5 (hopefully we, the v 1.4 and v 1.5 users, can rally to get you one) but I wondered if you had some guesses as to what I can do to try to over come that.

Be gentile with me, I'm a newbie to Linux and I am NOT a programmer outside of VB :oops: