Please let me install natively on my 1.9gb partition

Ask questions regarding Gentoox, Gentoo and Linux in general in these forums and we'll do our best to help you!
¡Mysto!
Novice

Please let me install natively on my 1.9gb partition

Post by ¡Mysto! »

Please let me install natively on my 1.9gb partition.....please please please

As ViRAL said
about that hdd thing, i have the seagate 10.4gb, when i formated my f: it woz only 1.9 gb tho??? when i did a native(without bios) it had an error while extracting rootfs in stardust, i'm guessing cos not enough space. does 100mb really make dat much diff?
I am guessing there is a little fix we could do to one of the files (initrd?) but as a linux rank amateur I don't really know where to start, could anyone give us any tips please.
¡Mysto!
Novice

Post by ¡Mysto! »

This stuff in the requests forum basically seems like what I need.

viewtopic.php?t=202
ViRAL
Novice

native

Post by ViRAL »

hey mysto, do wat i did, ask ur parents 4 a bigger 1, i just convinced my mum 2 buy me an 80gig, so now i can do native, (i put the 80gig in my pc and put the pc's old 40gig in the xbox), if ur older than me and don't live with ya parents(i'm 13) just save ur money. it can't b that hard.......i'm 13 and i managed to buy my xbox and my first game......-ViRAL
ShALLaX
Site Admin

Post by ShALLaX »

You can already install natively to F: on a stock 10gb hdd. Ive done it on my xbox. It leaves you with 280MB free.
¡Mysto!
Novice

Post by ¡Mysto! »

ViRAL: I'm 23, and I still live with my parents, but they don't buy me hard-drives :( AND I have to pay rent :x

ShALLaX: Like I said in my first post I have the seagate 10.4gb and it tells me there is not enough space to do a native install. But also the partition only seems to be 1.9gb. I formated it with evox some time ago, I don't know if that has anything to do with it?
madskillz09022
Linux User

Post by madskillz09022 »