cant find answer to amsn prob???

A place to ask all newbie questions and not get flamed, though you will get beaten down if you post a newbieish question outside of these walls.
Ylanday69
Novice

cant find answer to amsn prob???

Post by Ylanday69 »

hi all, im new to the scene but im having trouble with chat clients i cant seem to connect to msn messenger, yahoo is fine. ive tried kopete gaim v0.70 and amsn v0.90 and it just wont connect. i tied checking the connection options and i dont have any internet/network probs. i have searched this forum other forums and all kinds of websites but i cant find anything that answers my guestion.
BoricAcid
Novice

Post by BoricAcid »

For gaim to support MSN correctly you need to update it. version 0.77 works fine.

as root:

Code: Select all

emerge -u gaim
Ylanday69
Novice

Post by Ylanday69 »

yeah thx man ive already tried that and for some reason it comes up with 49 things just for one little app then it gets to abot 29 and i get an corrupt or incomplete file error
Trogdor
Gentoox Guru!

Post by Trogdor »

Ylanday69 wrote:yeah thx man ive already tried that and for some reason it comes up with 49 things just for one little app then it gets to abot 29 and i get an corrupt or incomplete file error
More-p details?
MOUNT TAPE U1439 ON B3, NO RING

Q: HOW DO I RUN MAGIC ??
A: You run magic by not typing in capital letters.
Ylanday69
Novice

Post by Ylanday69 »

yeah man, i'd say the error was my own fault, dial-up disconnected. although it usually resumes no prob, im just in the process of updating it again. this time there is 50 things, as in 1 0f 50 such and such whatever it is. if i get the error again i'll write it down. my main question is y does it take so much to update one little app? i mean 50 things to update just for one app. as far as i can tell, gaim isn't a major application there may be a few dependencies but 50 is beyond belief....???
Ylanday69
Novice

Post by Ylanday69 »