tutorial

Request new features that might make using Gentoox better.
_mikec_
Banned Losers
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 5:29 pm

tutorial

Post by _mikec_ » Wed May 12, 2004 10:33 pm

hey shallax great work man, i am waiting for the final release so i can leave my xbox on 24/7.

dud, is it possible to put together a tutorial for noobs using Home v3.0c, using only XFCE, to install apache2, mysql and php4 with SSL i know its easy for you man :) maybe we can run magic to install them, like apache?

-cya

[EDIT] the more i learn about gentoo the more i see that my questions are no very well asked, everybody was a nood!
Last edited by _mikec_ on Tue May 18, 2004 10:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Trogdor
Gentoox Guru!
Posts: 553
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2003 9:57 pm
Location: MOUNT TAPE U1439 ON B3, NO RING

Post by Trogdor » Thu May 13, 2004 3:58 am

A tutorial is what you want, huh? How about searching?
MOUNT TAPE U1439 ON B3, NO RING

Q: HOW DO I RUN MAGIC ??
A: You run magic by not typing in capital letters.

User avatar
nobspangle
Gentoox Guru!
Posts: 1681
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2003 11:59 am
Location: Manchester, UK

Re: tutorial

Post by nobspangle » Thu May 13, 2004 7:01 am

_mikec_ wrote: is it possible to put together a tutorial for noobs using Home v3.0c, using only XFCE, so we can install apache2, mysql, php4, ssh openssh..
ssh is already installed think about what you're asking
installing apache2, mysql, php4 is as easy as

Code: Select all

emerge sync && USE="mysql apache2" emerge mod_php
echo "APACHE2_OPTS="-D SSL -S PHP4"" >> /etc/conf.d/apache2
mysql_install_db
rc-update add mysql default
rc-update add apache2 default
/etc/init.d/apache2 start
I wrote a more detailed tutorial that also gives possible problems you may encouter just search for it, I think it's titled apache php samba mysql or something similar.
If you keep an open mind, will your brain fall out?

_mikec_
Banned Losers
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 5:29 pm

Post by _mikec_ » Thu May 13, 2004 6:57 pm

Trogdor, man.. i am not stupid, i did a search for it, thats why i am asking for a tutorial for the Home 3c version, i know some ppl just ask without searching but i guess you are here to put them in place.

nobspangle, dud i did i search for it, the only problem i got here is that i dont use the Pro version..ssh is installed but do i have to add some lines into the configuration file?

thats it.

User avatar
Trogdor
Gentoox Guru!
Posts: 553
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2003 9:57 pm
Location: MOUNT TAPE U1439 ON B3, NO RING

Post by Trogdor » Thu May 13, 2004 7:43 pm

_mikec_ wrote:Trogdor, man.. i am not stupid, i did a search for it, thats why i am asking for a tutorial for the Home 3c version, i know some ppl just ask without searching but i guess you are here to put them in place.

nobspangle, dud i did i search for it, the only problem i got here is that i dont use the Pro version..ssh is installed but do i have to add some lines into the configuration file?

thats it.
Installing apache, php, and mysql is the same in Gentoox 3.0c as it is in b, a, 2.1, 2.0, and any other system with emerge on it (Portaris, Gentoo).

After a few seconds on Google: http://www.serverwatch.com/tutorials/ar ... hp/1126341 . I'm sure you can do better than that. :)
MOUNT TAPE U1439 ON B3, NO RING

Q: HOW DO I RUN MAGIC ??
A: You run magic by not typing in capital letters.

User avatar
nobspangle
Gentoox Guru!
Posts: 1681
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2003 11:59 am
Location: Manchester, UK

Post by nobspangle » Thu May 13, 2004 9:18 pm

I'm quite a fan of this one
http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/desktop.xml

It covers postfix, samba php and apache

This one is also good, although it's more for people setting up mail servers it covers postfix, samba, php, apache, mysql and how to secure it all with ssl.
If you keep an open mind, will your brain fall out?

_mikec_
Banned Losers
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 5:29 pm

Post by _mikec_ » Thu May 13, 2004 9:32 pm

Trogdor, i did the search on this site only.

nobspangle, emerge sync && USE="mysql apache2" emerge mod_php
i was logged in as root with ssh.
it gives me this error at the end of that process i think:
>>> Install Net-Daemon-0.37 into /var/tmp/portage/Net-Daemon-0.37/image/ category dev-perl
ACCESS DENIED open_wr: /usr/lib/perl5/vendor_perl/5.8.0/Net/Daemon.pm
Installing /usr/lib/perl5/vendor_perl/5.8.0/Net/Daemon.pm
ACCESS DENIED chmod: /usr/lib/perl5/vendor_perl/5.8.0/Net/Daemon.pm
ACCESS DENIED mkdir: /usr/lib/perl5/vendor_perl/5.8.0/Net/Daemon
mkdir /usr/lib/perl5/vendor_perl/5.8.0/Net/Daemon: Permission denied at /usr/lib/perl5/5.8.0/ExtUtils/Install.pm line 137
make: *** [pure_vendor_install] Error 255

!!! ERROR: dev-perl/Net-Daemon-0.37 failed.
!!! Function perl-module_src_install, Line 80, Exitcode 2
!!! (no error message)

--------------------------- ACCESS VIOLATION SUMMARY ---------------------------
LOG FILE = "/tmp/sandbox-dev-perl_-_Net-Daemon-0.37-2141.log"

open_wr: /usr/lib/perl5/vendor_perl/5.8.0/Net/Daemon.pm
chmod: /usr/lib/perl5/vendor_perl/5.8.0/Net/Daemon.pm
mkdir: /usr/lib/perl5/vendor_perl/5.8.0/Net/Daemon
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

User avatar
Trogdor
Gentoox Guru!
Posts: 553
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2003 9:57 pm
Location: MOUNT TAPE U1439 ON B3, NO RING

Post by Trogdor » Fri May 14, 2004 2:27 am

_mikec_ wrote:Trogdor, i did the search on this site only.
Great. You'll know better next time.
MOUNT TAPE U1439 ON B3, NO RING

Q: HOW DO I RUN MAGIC ??
A: You run magic by not typing in capital letters.

_mikec_
Banned Losers
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 5:29 pm

Post by _mikec_ » Fri May 14, 2004 3:14 am

right. for a nood, i guess the right thing to do is try here first, if you just launch ppl to other sites or search engines well expect them to come back if something goes wrong again cause perhaps gentoox wasn't configure the way other sites explain it.. nway i'll just go elsewhere to try to decode how to learn gentoox, i know gentooX is actually a gentoo linux distro i might have a chance over there :wink:, Trogdor u just launch me out the site to learn something that was built from peeps around here, its cool though thats just who u are.

dam n00bs are everywhere, am turning insane pls helpp mee plss!!.

[EDIT]yeah..
Last edited by _mikec_ on Tue May 18, 2004 10:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
nobspangle
Gentoox Guru!
Posts: 1681
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2003 11:59 am
Location: Manchester, UK

Post by nobspangle » Fri May 14, 2004 7:25 am

If you read my tutorial you would find two solutions to your problem.

Either

Code: Select all

emerge libperl perl
then you can

Code: Select all

USE="mysql apache2" emerge mod_php
again to carry on

or you can do

Code: Select all

FEATURES="-sandbox" USE="mysql apache2" emerge mod_php
If you keep an open mind, will your brain fall out?

User avatar
Trogdor
Gentoox Guru!
Posts: 553
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2003 9:57 pm
Location: MOUNT TAPE U1439 ON B3, NO RING

Post by Trogdor » Sat May 15, 2004 12:43 am

_mikec_ wrote:right. for a nood, i guess the right thing to do is try here first, if you just launch ppl to other sites or search engines well expect them to come back if something goes wrong again cause perhaps gentoox wasn't configure the way other sites explain it.. nway i'll just go elsewhere to try to decode how to learn gentoox, i know gentooX is actually a gentoo linux distro i might have a chance over there :wink:, Trogdor u just launch me out the site to learn something that was built from peeps around here, its cool though thats just who u are.

dam n00bs are everywhere, am turning insame pls helpp mee plss!!.
For the record, Gentoox is nearly the same as all other Linux distros, exceptions being installed programs, package managers, and configuration file directories. Gentoox is exactly the same as Gentoo, except for xbox-specific features (magic, etc) and limitations (no 3d, etc.).
MOUNT TAPE U1439 ON B3, NO RING

Q: HOW DO I RUN MAGIC ??
A: You run magic by not typing in capital letters.

_mikec_
Banned Losers
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 5:29 pm

Post by _mikec_ » Sat May 15, 2004 2:22 am

dud, i dont think there is a record board in here, but you're right linux is linux, the only changes are exactly what you've wrote.

configuration file directories: the most important thing to know if somebody want to install new programs, servers....

i am not seeking to get spoon feeded, i just want to learn how i did it And learn what i am doing following tutorials, we can't start learning advanced techniques right away ppl have to start this way, most ppl!..


(http://www.linuxsecurity.com/articles/f ... -9031.html),

[ EDIT ]

[re]compile can take a half day!!. I did not test it, cause i dont want to start over if something is wrong. correct me or add commands to improve security, stability.. performance.. :wink:

check it out:
- http://www.math.mcgill.ca/services/linux_basics.php -
- After a clean install of Gentoox Pro v1.1

- After a clean install of Gentoox Home v3.0
su
root password: xbox
magic available
magic
emerge sync
emerge libperl perl
USE="mysql apache2 ssl proftpd" emerge mod_php phpmyadmin gallery
echo "APACHE2_OPTS=\"-D SSL -D PHP4\"" >> /etc/conf.d/apache2
mysql_install_db
starting MySQL..
/etc/init.d/mysql start
mysqladmin -u root -h <HOSTNAME> password newpassword
mysqladmin -u root password <HOSTNAME> -p
mysql -p
create database phpbb; // phpBB forum: http://www.phpbb.com/
quit
rc-update add mysql default
rc-update add apache2 default
rm –rf /var/www/localhost/htdocs/*
touch /var/www/localhost/htdocs/index.php
chmod u +rwx /var/www/localhost/htdocs/index.php
pico -w /var/www/localhost/htdocs/index.php
add:
<?php
phpinfo();
?>
Hit ctrl+x, then y, then enter.
before reboot:

Configure Apache2 config file:
editing /etc/apache2/conf/apache2.conf
uncomment the servername and change it to the name of your server,
the server name is the fully qualified domain name of your server,
if you were setting up a server to serve http://www.mynewwebsite.com you
would put that as your server name.
starting httpd2..
/etc/init.d/apache2 start
Next it's a good idea for a server serving php pages that we change
the directory index page order so the server looks for index.php
before index.html this is changed in /etc/apache2/conf/commonapache2.conf
find the line:
DirectoryIndex index.php index.html.var index.html index.php3 index.shtml
index.cgi index.pl index.htm Default.htm default.htm

MySQL config file /etc/mysql/my.cnf
PHP config file /etc/apache2/conf/php.ini


Secure it all with ssl. http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/virt-mail-howto.xml
reboot
after reboot open firebird and type http://localhost, apache with SSH connections to https://localhost.
Last edited by _mikec_ on Tue May 18, 2004 1:10 pm, edited 12 times in total.

User avatar
nobspangle
Gentoox Guru!
Posts: 1681
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2003 11:59 am
Location: Manchester, UK

Post by nobspangle » Sat May 15, 2004 7:48 am

it's almost there, you haven't started your servers. You need to start mysql after doing mysql_install_db and before setting the passwords and you need to start apache2 after setting the server name.
If you keep an open mind, will your brain fall out?

_mikec_
Banned Losers
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 5:29 pm

Post by _mikec_ » Sat May 15, 2004 3:02 pm

there i add it.
can you tell me how to add ssh support for apache and mysql?

[ EDIT ]
commands before:
emerge sync
magic
emerge libperl perl
Xbox root # emerge USE="mysql apache2" emerge mod_php php
Calculating dependencies
emerge: there are no masked or unmasked ebuilds to satisfy "USE=mysql apache2".

!!! Error calculating dependencies. Please correct.
Xbox root #

what's wrong?
Linux, not good for newbies with no skills at all, u better be viewing the network from a Window to the world and using micro soft wares.

User avatar
winterborne
Pro
Posts: 93
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2003 9:45 am
Location: Canada

Post by winterborne » Sun May 16, 2004 5:10 pm

You used the command:

Code: Select all

emerge USE="mysql apache2" emerge mod_php php
I'm sure you can see the problem already: there's two 'emerge's on that line.

Code: Select all

USE="mysql apache2" emerge mod_php php
is what you want. You could probably even do it without the php (I'll bet emerging mod_php would install it anyhow)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest