HDTV Settings, I got my overscan problem fixed.

Talk about anything related to Gentoox or Gentoo.

HDTV Settings, I got my overscan problem fixed.

Postby jaredn79 » Thu Apr 29, 2004 3:26 pm

Gentoox now displays perfectly on my 52" RCA Widescreen HDTV, thank God. So I figured I would share my experience. I will post pictures to this thread tonight when I get home from work.

Thanks to all the forum postings, various web pages, etc, I was able to put the pieces of the puzzle together. One guy's web page that I came across had the correct settings for X Windows to display correctly on an HDTV with 480p.

I will be tweaking the settings to see about 540p or 1080i (my TV doesnt support 720p) - IMO the desktop resolution of 640 x 480 is ridiculously small.

Here is how I did it:

1. DO this from a PuTTY/Terminal/SSH session as root (If X/KDE/XFCE is running the screen will be garbled after this - It is normal and ok):
fbset -g 640 440 640 440 32 -t 37000 100 54 45 33 64 7

2. Then run (this will give you needed parameters for X Windows):
fbset -x

---------------------------
THIS SHOULD APPEAR
---------------------------
Xbox # fbset -x

Mode "640x440"
# D: 27.027 MHz, H: 31.500 kHz, V: 60.000 Hz
DotClock 27.028
HTimings 640 694 758 858
VTimings 440 473 480 525
Flags "-HSync" "-VSync" # Warning: XFree86 doesn't support accel


EndMode
----------------------------

4. Edit "etc/X11/XF86Config-4" (pico XF86Config-4) find "Modeline 'xbox' "

5. Change the settings to what you got from fbset -x
Example:

Modeline "xbox" 27.027 640 694 758 858 440 473 480 525 -HSync -VSync

Exit and save XF86Config-4

6. X windows will still be garbled, You can restart X by pressing CTRL+ALT+BACKSPACE, it should be purdy now.

-Jared
I am a n00b to Linux, but learning quickly. Please dont flame me.
jaredn79
Linux User
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2004 6:18 pm
Location: Arlington, TX

Postby msnyder » Thu Apr 29, 2004 8:33 pm

You are the man. I'll be trying this out when I get home... If it work I will call you Daddy!
msnyder
Adept
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2004 7:47 pm
Location: Tyler, Texas

Postby jaredn79 » Thu Apr 29, 2004 9:17 pm

Cool let me know if you have any luck. Im gonna try getting 540p to work this evening. Where in Texas are you msnyder?
------------------------------------------------------
Jared

I am a total n00b to linux, please dont flame me ;o)
-------------------------------------------------------
jaredn79
Linux User
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2004 6:18 pm
Location: Arlington, TX

Postby msnyder » Thu Apr 29, 2004 9:54 pm

jaredn79 wrote:Cool let me know if you have any luck. Im gonna try getting 540p to work this evening. Where in Texas are you msnyder?


You mean 720p...


I'm in Tyler...about two hours from you.
msnyder
Adept
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2004 7:47 pm
Location: Tyler, Texas

Postby jaredn79 » Thu Apr 29, 2004 10:46 pm

Nope, 540p - I dont think my TV supports 720p
------------------------------------------------------
Jared

I am a total n00b to linux, please dont flame me ;o)
-------------------------------------------------------
jaredn79
Linux User
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2004 6:18 pm
Location: Arlington, TX

Postby msnyder » Thu Apr 29, 2004 11:29 pm

Never heard of 540p

480i
480p
720p
1080i
msnyder
Adept
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2004 7:47 pm
Location: Tyler, Texas

Postby jaredn79 » Thu Apr 29, 2004 11:39 pm

These are the HDTV resolutions used, depending on the TV/Projector

480p
540p
720p
960i
1080i
1440i


I dont know of any others
------------------------------------------------------
Jared

I am a total n00b to linux, please dont flame me ;o)
-------------------------------------------------------
jaredn79
Linux User
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2004 6:18 pm
Location: Arlington, TX

Postby jaredn79 » Thu Apr 29, 2004 11:41 pm

And some LCOS displays support 1080p
------------------------------------------------------
Jared

I am a total n00b to linux, please dont flame me ;o)
-------------------------------------------------------
jaredn79
Linux User
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2004 6:18 pm
Location: Arlington, TX

Postby msnyder » Thu Apr 29, 2004 11:51 pm

Wow, didn't realize there were so many...


You work for TI in Dallas?
msnyder
Adept
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2004 7:47 pm
Location: Tyler, Texas

Postby jaredn79 » Fri Apr 30, 2004 3:00 pm

No, I work for a software development company in Arlington.

Here is an image as promised.

Image
------------------------------------------------------
Jared

I am a total n00b to linux, please dont flame me ;o)
-------------------------------------------------------
jaredn79
Linux User
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2004 6:18 pm
Location: Arlington, TX

Postby ShALLaX » Mon May 03, 2004 1:14 am

I wouldnt call that "fixed" so much.. look at the black bar on the left :o
The original Xbox adaptation of Gentoo
User avatar
ShALLaX
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1973
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 9:25 pm
Location: England

Postby msnyder » Mon May 03, 2004 1:22 am

WOW!!! Looks sweet! Now if I can only get the color to show, instead of black and white.
msnyder
Adept
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2004 7:47 pm
Location: Tyler, Texas

Postby msnyder » Mon May 03, 2004 1:23 am

BTW, I have no black bar on either side...
msnyder
Adept
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2004 7:47 pm
Location: Tyler, Texas

Postby msnyder » Tue May 04, 2004 3:48 pm

Any idea how to make the display color?
msnyder
Adept
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2004 7:47 pm
Location: Tyler, Texas

Postby jaredn79 » Tue May 04, 2004 4:22 pm

It's more "fixed" than having overscan. :lol:

No color?!?! Hmm, thats very strange. I dont know what would cause that. What version of XBOX do you have, do you have a focus chip? What TV do you have?
------------------------------------------------------
Jared

I am a total n00b to linux, please dont flame me ;o)
-------------------------------------------------------
jaredn79
Linux User
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2004 6:18 pm
Location: Arlington, TX

Next

Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron