big problem with putty and magic

Ask questions regarding Gentoox, Gentoo and Linux in general in these forums and we'll do our best to help you!
Post Reply
zerowizard
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2003 4:45 am
Contact:

big problem with putty and magic

Post by zerowizard » Thu Aug 28, 2003 4:49 am

see, whenever i try to run magic it never connects. also, whenever i try to use putty, it says "Network Error: Connection Refused."

i have no clue what is the matter. I want to learn how to use this, it would be a shame for me not to be able to run Linux on my xbox.
I know it is connected to the net, cuz i can go to any website with the browser, but thats bout it. it will download manually, but as i said, magic doesnt work.

can anyone help me, plz?


thx
zerowizard

User avatar
Scocou
Novice
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2003 12:22 am
Location: British Columbia, Canada

Post by Scocou » Thu Aug 28, 2003 4:57 am

I know it is connected to the net
How is it connected, through a hub, another PC, a router, directly to modem/cable modem?

zerowizard
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2003 4:45 am
Contact:

Post by zerowizard » Thu Aug 28, 2003 6:35 am

through a router, but i took it to my friends house and we used crossover cable and connnected straight to pc and it still said connection refused, so we tried to do it with his box and his worked just fine.
zerowizard

daPlumber
Linux User
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2003 12:59 pm

Post by daPlumber » Thu Aug 28, 2003 10:34 am

IMO Putty is a PITA.

Check out:
http://www.ssh.com/support/downloads/se ... rcial.html

It's ssh's product without PKR free (as in beer) for non-commercial use.

It has great Windows integration, especially tunneling and file transfer.

It's not for the security paranoid, since no source.

In this situation it's useful, since the error popups are fairly verbose.

1) Check the xbox network address, and can you ping it?
2) Scan the xbox network address for port 22 being open?
3) Is sshd running on gentoox?
4) Find out as per above at what point in the ssh protocol it's failing.

zerowizard
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2003 4:45 am
Contact:

Post by zerowizard » Thu Aug 28, 2003 4:54 pm

how do i c if ssh is running?
im a noob to linux.
zerowizard

zerowizard
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2003 4:45 am
Contact:

Post by zerowizard » Thu Aug 28, 2003 4:58 pm

how do u scan to c if port 22 open. I pinged the ip and it was fine. Do i scan like this: 192.168.1.113:22 cuz if so, it said couldnt find host
zerowizard

daPlumber
Linux User
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2003 12:59 pm

Post by daPlumber » Thu Aug 28, 2003 6:02 pm

Oops. Sorry, but this getting a bit beyond a simple reply! :wink:

OK, if you're sitting at your Gentoox xbox with a USB keyboard:

Press cntrl-alt-F1 to get a text login screen
log in as "root", password "xbox"

to see if the ssh daemon (sshd) is running:

type: "/etc/init.d/sshd status"

you should get back:" * status: started"

or you could type "ps -ef | grep ssh"

and you should see a line something like:
"root 1127 1 0 01:48 ? 00:00:00 /usr/sbin/sshd"
if sshd is running.

From a windows PC on the same network open up a command prompt window and try:"telnet 192.168.1.113 22"

you sould see a response:
"SSH-1.99-OpenSSH_3.6.1p2

Protocol mismatch.


Connection to host lost.
"

if sshd is not running, try "/etc/init.d/sshd start" from the root prompt and see what it says.

zerowizard
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2003 4:45 am
Contact:

Post by zerowizard » Fri Aug 29, 2003 12:12 am

it said connection to host lost

never said protocol mismatch
zerowizard

zerowizard
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2003 4:45 am
Contact:

Post by zerowizard » Fri Aug 29, 2003 12:23 am

it was already running
zerowizard

daPlumber
Linux User
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2003 12:59 pm

Post by daPlumber » Fri Aug 29, 2003 1:08 am

Sorry, the "Protocol Mismatch" should happen when you press return after the OpenSSH header. Is it disconnecting immediately? If so you may have a certificate problem.

zerowizard
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2003 4:45 am
Contact:

Post by zerowizard » Fri Aug 29, 2003 1:41 am

on telnet it takes a lil time. on putty, when i try to connect, its instantly. soon as i press open it says "Network Error: connection refused"
zerowizard

lowsodium
Novice
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2004 1:37 pm

Post by lowsodium » Thu Mar 04, 2004 3:00 am

I am getting the same error...why has no one answered this question..it has been over 6 months?

msnyder
Adept
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2004 7:47 pm
Location: Tyler, Texas

Post by msnyder » Thu Mar 04, 2004 3:10 am

lowsodium wrote:I am getting the same error...why has no one answered this question..it has been over 6 months?
Dude, you sure are having alot of problems, I'd suggest reading some of the tutorials and reinstalling, you may have botched the install.

User avatar
nobspangle
Gentoox Guru!
Posts: 1681
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2003 11:59 am
Location: Manchester, UK

Post by nobspangle » Thu Mar 04, 2004 8:44 am

put putty in your c:\windows\system32 directory then click start>run and type "putty -ssh xbox_ip" (replace xbox_ip with the ip of your xbox)
If you keep an open mind, will your brain fall out?

User avatar
effbiai
Novice
Posts: 36
Joined: Sun Feb 29, 2004 1:13 am
Location: Norway, Vestfold

Post by effbiai » Thu Mar 04, 2004 9:05 am

and you are sure that you connect to the correct ip adress? rin 'ifconfig' on the xbox and check the ip adress

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests