emerge sync fails @ 88%

Ask questions regarding Gentoox, Gentoo and Linux in general in these forums and we'll do our best to help you!
Post Reply
StickyIckyBud
Novice
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2006 6:20 am

emerge sync fails @ 88%

Post by StickyIckyBud » Mon Mar 20, 2006 7:05 am

brand new install
login as root
set date
run magic

it tells me I havn't run emerge sync yet (which I havn't) and it starts to go on its way. Then it fails with the same error message as has been posted many times in this forum::
>>> Updating Portage cache: 88%!!! Cannot resolve a virtual package name to an ebuild.
!!! This is a bug, please report it. (virtual/libintl-0)
so, but, now, ummm - what was the fix again? Because, I've tried the three suggestions I found.

1) Look at your symlink, make.profile

Code: Select all

ls -al /etc/make.profile 
lrwxrwxrwx  1 root root 47 Mar 19 21:48 /etc/make.profile -> /usr/portage/profiles/default-linux/x86/2006.0/
2) Set your system time correctly using date

Code: Select all

 date 032001022006
Mon Mar 20 01:02:00 GMT 2006
3) Run Magic

Code: Select all

magic
Was there another suggestion that I missed?

User avatar
cheesyboofs
Power user
Posts: 239
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 1:32 pm
Location: Luton UK
Contact:

Post by cheesyboofs » Mon Mar 20, 2006 1:30 pm

What type of install do you have? If it is a Native install I have seen it fail to sync if you forget to enable the swap partition, just a thought....
Go fully native, it's the destiny of all Mk1 XboxesImage
The needs of the many out way the needs of the few or the one ...

StickyIckyBud
Novice
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2006 6:20 am

Post by StickyIckyBud » Mon Mar 20, 2006 3:37 pm

home edition, f install - I don't remember "enabling" swap - but X is working. How would I check?

sevenlayercookie
Novice
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2006 11:51 pm

Post by sevenlayercookie » Mon Mar 20, 2006 4:29 pm

This is a problem with portage. make sure you have latest version with
"emerge portage", then run magic again. Hope this helps :D !

StickyIckyBud
Novice
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2006 6:20 am

emerge portage

Post by StickyIckyBud » Mon Mar 20, 2006 4:53 pm

I'll try again as soon as I get home. but I'm expecting I'll get the ARCH type not set error because my portage tree is not complete (i havn't successfully run sync)

I expect the error to look like this, but I'll confirm it for you later tonight.

Code: Select all

!!! ARCH is not set... Are you missing the /etc/make.profile symlink? 
!!! Is the symlink correct? Is your portage tree complete? 
Like I said, I'll let you know

orochi
Gentoox Guru!
Posts: 606
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2004 8:11 am

Post by orochi » Tue Mar 21, 2006 12:57 am

to check mounted swapfiles



cat /proc/swaps

StickyIckyBud
Novice
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2006 6:20 am

BRILLIANT

Post by StickyIckyBud » Tue Mar 21, 2006 3:23 am

wow, awsome, thanks everyone

emerge portage - WORKED!

I'm sorry I ever doubted you, sevenlayercookie.

THREAD IS CLOSED
solution:

Code: Select all

emerge portage
I just emerged vim =)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests