HOWTO: Fully Native

Ask questions regarding Gentoox, Gentoo and Linux in general in these forums and we'll do our best to help you!
User avatar
ShALLaX
Site Admin
Posts: 1973
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 9:25 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Post by ShALLaX » Wed Oct 05, 2005 2:42 am

Tada, new Resctoox out with working large file support (LFS)... tried and tested myself! Sorry for the wait!
The original Xbox adaptation of Gentoo

User avatar
cheesyboofs
Power user
Posts: 239
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 1:32 pm
Location: Luton UK
Contact:

Post by cheesyboofs » Wed Oct 05, 2005 8:00 pm

Ta!

I thought I’d try this on my 1.6 Xbox that had the Gentoox loader already on it, but this wouldn’t boot off the Resctoox CD only Sparkle so I thought I’d try re-flashing a newer bios via Gentoox bios flash option, but I ended up nuking my Xecuter 2.6 mod chip. I’ve now got a programmer on order so I won’t be able to test this new version of resctoox till at least the middle of next week.

You know when you start those 10 minuet jobs and you really wish you had'nt!!!! :cry:
Go fully native, it's the destiny of all Mk1 XboxesImage
The needs of the many out way the needs of the few or the one ...

atariman486
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 6:26 am
Contact:

Post by atariman486 » Thu Oct 06, 2005 6:30 am

woo hoo! thanks for this tutorial. I searched for a loooonnnng time looking for how to do a fully native install with gentoox! I used the the new resctoox CD and the LFS worked fine. I also used reiserfs for /dev/hda2 and it worked great. Now I've got apache up and running. Again thanks for the tutorial... and thanks for your great work ShALLaX.

User avatar
ShALLaX
Site Admin
Posts: 1973
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 9:25 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Post by ShALLaX » Thu Oct 06, 2005 10:22 am

Excellent! Good to hear it works now :)
The original Xbox adaptation of Gentoo

Bucko
Power user
Posts: 229
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 4:14 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Post by Bucko » Sun Oct 09, 2005 5:53 pm

nice tutorial 8) 8) :lol: :wink:

User avatar
cheesyboofs
Power user
Posts: 239
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 1:32 pm
Location: Luton UK
Contact:

Post by cheesyboofs » Tue Oct 11, 2005 7:37 am

Programmer arrived yesterday and was up and running again last night, I’m happy to also report that Restoox 2.2 is working a treat. I will update the tutorial as soon as I get a chance.
Nice one!
Go fully native, it's the destiny of all Mk1 XboxesImage
The needs of the many out way the needs of the few or the one ...

User avatar
ShALLaX
Site Admin
Posts: 1973
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 9:25 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Post by ShALLaX » Tue Oct 11, 2005 12:32 pm

Excellent, thanks!
The original Xbox adaptation of Gentoo

User avatar
cheesyboofs
Power user
Posts: 239
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 1:32 pm
Location: Luton UK
Contact:

Post by cheesyboofs » Wed Oct 12, 2005 9:12 pm

There we go all updated, now lets never mention the 'X' word again. :wink:
Go fully native, it's the destiny of all Mk1 XboxesImage
The needs of the many out way the needs of the few or the one ...

User avatar
ShALLaX
Site Admin
Posts: 1973
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 9:25 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Post by ShALLaX » Wed Oct 12, 2005 9:23 pm

Hehe, great job! You get the reboot request because Resctoox auto mounts your E: drive. Repartitioning while any partition is mounted means that the OS will continue using the old partition table, therefore a reboot is required (unless you unmount everything first).
The original Xbox adaptation of Gentoo

User avatar
cheesyboofs
Power user
Posts: 239
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 1:32 pm
Location: Luton UK
Contact:

Post by cheesyboofs » Sun Oct 16, 2005 10:57 am

New feature: XboxIR auto-repeat patch

There’s a new kernel patch which enables auto-repeat of keypresses on the Xbox remote. Run magic to update!
Will this involve downloading a new vmlinuz and there for test my/our little /boot patch?
Also I never did ask, what does initrd do? And why don’t we need it?
Go fully native, it's the destiny of all Mk1 XboxesImage
The needs of the many out way the needs of the few or the one ...

User avatar
ShALLaX
Site Admin
Posts: 1973
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 9:25 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Post by ShALLaX » Sun Oct 16, 2005 3:01 pm

It involves a new kernel patch (i.e. recompiling).

The initrd's primary function is to mount the rootfs and pivot to it then run init.
The original Xbox adaptation of Gentoo

teitoku
Novice
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2004 5:29 pm
Contact:

Post by teitoku » Tue Oct 18, 2005 10:36 pm

Say WHAT?

Code: Select all

Resctoox:> ls -l /mnt
drwxr-xr-x    2 root     root         1024 Aug  3  2003 e
drwxr-xr-x    3 root     root           72 Oct 18 22:11 hda2
drwxr-xr-x    2 root     root         1024 Oct 18 22:33 loopback
drwxr-xr-x    2 root     root         1024 Aug  3  2003 swap
drwxr-xr-x    2 root     root         1024 Aug  3  2003 temp
Resctoox:> mount -o loop /mnt/hda2/rootfs /mnt/loopback
mount: Mounting /mnt/hda2/rootfs on /mnt/loopback failed: Not a directory
Resctoox:>

User avatar
cheesyboofs
Power user
Posts: 239
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 1:32 pm
Location: Luton UK
Contact:

Post by cheesyboofs » Wed Oct 19, 2005 10:26 am

Can I just make sure you didn’t copy and paste the

Code: Select all

mkdir /mnt/loopback && mount –o loop /mnt/hda2/rootfs /mnt/loopback
command in to putty, for some reason it substitutes the ‘–o’ for ‘.o’ you must follow the tutorial word for word!
Go fully native, it's the destiny of all Mk1 XboxesImage
The needs of the many out way the needs of the few or the one ...

teitoku
Novice
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2004 5:29 pm
Contact:

Post by teitoku » Thu Oct 20, 2005 1:34 pm

Well, I got the mounting sorted out now. I got to the bit of your tutorial where you copy over vmlinuz, create linuxboot.cfg, and re-write the contents of fstab. Done, done, and done. Flashed loader 5.11 to my chip. Boot up and see CD/DVD and Advanced. No hard drive option. What's left to do?

teitoku
Novice
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2004 5:29 pm
Contact:

Post by teitoku » Thu Oct 20, 2005 7:35 pm

Oops, forgot to mark partitions as active/bootable when running cfdisk earlier. I went and ran it now, and I get this "cannot find reiserfs on ramdisk(1,0)" error. Should I just wipe it clean and start over?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests