Setting resolutions beyond 720p/1024

Ask questions regarding Gentoox, Gentoo and Linux in general in these forums and we'll do our best to help you!
Post Reply
shaocaholica
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 6:39 am
Contact:

Setting resolutions beyond 720p/1024

Post by shaocaholica » Sun Jun 19, 2005 6:46 am

How can I set resolutions beyond 720p/1024/60hz?

Im using an X2VGA with a CRT monitor. I would like to run at 1280x1024@75hz. How can I go about doing this? Would it be possible to do 1600x1050@60hz for my widescreen LCD?

orochi
Gentoox Guru!
Posts: 606
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2004 8:11 am

Post by orochi » Mon Jun 20, 2005 6:50 am

The xbox isnt really powerful enough to run that high of a resolution, you could try to set it via your linuxboot.cfg file but i dont know if the drivers can even do that high

User avatar
ShALLaX
Site Admin
Posts: 1973
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 9:25 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Post by ShALLaX » Mon Jun 20, 2005 11:10 am

The Xbox IS powerful enough to run at higher resolutions, the kernel drivers just dont support it.
The original Xbox adaptation of Gentoo

User avatar
clpalmer
Power user
Posts: 288
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2005 6:38 pm

Post by clpalmer » Mon Jun 20, 2005 3:35 pm

You can run that kind of resolution on a much less powerful machine with a much worse graphics card than the XBox. As long as you're not trying to play some high end games on it, it'd work fine, but, like ShALLaX said, the drivers just don't support it.

shaocaholica
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 6:39 am
Contact:

Post by shaocaholica » Mon Jun 20, 2005 4:15 pm

I wonder if the video chip (connextant in my case) or the X2VGA can even handle refresh rates beyond 60hz.

User avatar
clpalmer
Power user
Posts: 288
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2005 6:38 pm

Post by clpalmer » Mon Jun 20, 2005 5:31 pm

Isn't the GPU a GeForce3-ish chip? Should be able to handle much higher than 60Hz.

shaocaholica
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jun 19, 2005 6:39 am
Contact:

Post by shaocaholica » Mon Jun 20, 2005 8:11 pm

clpalmer wrote:Isn't the GPU a GeForce3-ish chip? Should be able to handle much higher than 60Hz.
The nvidia chip doesn't actually handle the output signals. A separate chip handles that and that is the one in question.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests