Help with putting Gentoox on F

Ask questions regarding Gentoox, Gentoo and Linux in general in these forums and we'll do our best to help you!
Post Reply
georgc
Novice
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2003 12:35 am

Help with putting Gentoox on F

Post by georgc » Fri Jun 03, 2005 3:48 pm

I downloaded Resctoox.iso renamed initrd.gz to res.gz and vmlinuz to res. I moved them to the root E:

this is my config file

Code: Select all

title Gentoox
kernel vmlinuz
initrd initrd.gz
append init=/linuxrc root=/dev/ram0 kbd-reset video=xbox:800x600,nohwcursor,hoc=13,voc=11
title Sparkle
kernel sparkle
initrd sprkrd.gz
append load_ramdisk=1 prompt_ramdisk=0 ramdisk_size=26215 rw root=/dev/ram kbd-reset
 title Resctoox 
kernel res 
initrd res.gz 
append load_ramdisk=1 prompt_ramdisk=0 ramdisk_size=26215 rw root=/dev/ram kbd-reset quiet

i still dont see the resctoox thing in the fatx menu

vplayer
1337
Posts: 442
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2004 11:06 pm
Location: USA

Post by vplayer » Fri Jun 03, 2005 11:43 pm

do you have that space in front of title on the config file, if you do try to remove that.
Box: XBOX ver 1.1
Mod: Xecutor 2.3 lite+
Hdd: WD 80GB
Dash: Evox, Ava, XBMC
Linux: Gentoox Pro 4.2

georgc
Novice
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2003 12:35 am

Post by georgc » Sat Jun 04, 2005 12:06 am

Code: Select all

title Gentoox
kernel vmlinuz
initrd initrd.gz
append init=/linuxrc root=/dev/ram0 kbd-reset video=xbox:800x600,nohwcursor,hoc=13,voc=11
title Sparkle
kernel sparkle
initrd sprkrd.gz
append load_ramdisk=1 prompt_ramdisk=0 ramdisk_size=26215 rw root=/dev/ram kbd-reset title
Resctoox 
kernel res 
initrd res.gz 
append load_ramdisk=1 prompt_ramdisk=0 ramdisk_size=26215 rw root=/dev/ram kbd-reset quiet

this is what i now have in my .cfg file still wont work

vplayer
1337
Posts: 442
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2004 11:06 pm
Location: USA

Post by vplayer » Sat Jun 04, 2005 1:13 pm

no now i see your 'title Resctoox' on the previous line. It needs to be on a new line, just no spaces to begin with.
Box: XBOX ver 1.1
Mod: Xecutor 2.3 lite+
Hdd: WD 80GB
Dash: Evox, Ava, XBMC
Linux: Gentoox Pro 4.2

georgc
Novice
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2003 12:35 am

Post by georgc » Wed Jun 08, 2005 12:02 am

Cool that got it.


I have one more question and i dont want to start another thread. I am trying to install limewire and it used to be a bin file. The changed to a .rpm. I try to intall the rpm and i get this error

Code: Select all

rpm -U --replacepkgs  '//home/gentoox/LimeWireLinux.rpm';echo RESULT=$?
error: Failed dependencies:
 /bin/bash is needed by LimeWire-free-4.8.1-0
 /bin/sh is needed by LimeWire-free-4.8.1-0
 j2re >= 1.4.1 is needed by LimeWire-free-4.8.1-0
 libX11.so.6 is needed by LimeWire-free-4.8.1-0
 libXext.so.6 is needed by LimeWire-free-4.8.1-0
 libXss.so.1 is needed by LimeWire-free-4.8.1-0
 libXt.so.6 is needed by LimeWire-free-4.8.1-0
 libc.so.6 is needed by LimeWire-free-4.8.1-0
 libc.so.6(GLIBC_2.0) is needed by LimeWire-free-4.8.1-0
 libc.so.6(GLIBC_2.1.3) is needed by LimeWire-free-4.8.1-0
 libdl.so.2 is needed by LimeWire-free-4.8.1-0
 libdl.so.2(GLIBC_2.0) is needed by LimeWire-free-4.8.1-0
 libdl.so.2(GLIBC_2.1) is needed by LimeWire-free-4.8.1-0
 libgcc_s.so.1 is needed by LimeWire-free-4.8.1-0
 libm.so.6 is needed by LimeWire-free-4.8.1-0
 libpthread.so.0 is needed by LimeWire-free-4.8.1-0
 librt.so.1 is needed by LimeWire-free-4.8.1-0
 libstdc++.so.5 is needed by LimeWire-free-4.8.1-0
 libstdc++.so.5(CXXABI_1.2) is needed by LimeWire-free-4.8.1-0
RESULT=1
 

vplayer
1337
Posts: 442
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2004 11:06 pm
Location: USA

Post by vplayer » Wed Jun 08, 2005 11:32 am

Its just showing dependencies.. so first you would have to update all those packages (which may not be 100% true cause it says it needs /bin/sh and /bin/bash )

But why not use
emerge limewire
Box: XBOX ver 1.1
Mod: Xecutor 2.3 lite+
Hdd: WD 80GB
Dash: Evox, Ava, XBMC
Linux: Gentoox Pro 4.2

georgc
Novice
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2003 12:35 am

Post by georgc » Thu Jun 09, 2005 12:19 am

i tried that already. i get a error that says that Arch is not set.

vplayer
1337
Posts: 442
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2004 11:06 pm
Location: USA

Post by vplayer » Thu Jun 09, 2005 9:36 pm

emerge sync && emerge limewire
Box: XBOX ver 1.1
Mod: Xecutor 2.3 lite+
Hdd: WD 80GB
Dash: Evox, Ava, XBMC
Linux: Gentoox Pro 4.2

User avatar
ShALLaX
Site Admin
Posts: 1973
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 9:25 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Post by ShALLaX » Sat Jun 11, 2005 11:58 pm

Yay for reading the manual. RPMs will NOT work in Gentoox, forget it. Do what vplayer said ;)
The original Xbox adaptation of Gentoo

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests