XBOX Powers Down When Launching Gentooxx.xbe from Dash

Ask questions regarding Gentoox, Gentoo and Linux in general in these forums and we'll do our best to help you!
Post Reply
afeuer
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2005 4:28 am

XBOX Powers Down When Launching Gentooxx.xbe from Dash

Post by afeuer » Wed Jan 19, 2005 4:32 am

Hello folks;

After much research I can't seem to find a solution, so thought I'd ask for some help!

I'm happily running Gentoox 3.2 Home on a FatX Drive E. Works well when I boot from CD.

If I try to execute Gentoox from XBMC or Evox (latest revisions, both), the system goes to a black screen, the fan spins waaay up, and the system just shuts down.

Thoughts, suggestions?

Thanks kindly!

tuckie
Linux User
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2005 4:52 pm
Location: MI
Contact:

Post by tuckie » Sat Jan 22, 2005 10:44 pm

i have the same problem

vplayer
1337
Posts: 442
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2004 11:06 pm
Location: USA

Post by vplayer » Sat Jan 22, 2005 11:41 pm

Hi,

I remember shallax machine shut down cause the fan was running too high. Could be some setting in xbmc.

But for tuckie he could boot from a cd, so like u said it should be something to do with the setting of the dash

hope that helps,
Box: XBOX ver 1.1
Mod: Xecutor 2.3 lite+
Hdd: WD 80GB
Dash: Evox, Ava, XBMC
Linux: Gentoox Pro 4.2

Trevante
Power user
Posts: 203
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2004 10:21 pm

Post by Trevante » Sun Jan 23, 2005 12:47 am

Well, make sure you have gentooxx.xbe, and not Gentooxx.xbe.

vplayer
1337
Posts: 442
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2004 11:06 pm
Location: USA

Post by vplayer » Sun Jan 23, 2005 3:46 am

no for them it starts to run, gets a blank screen and shuts down. If you dont have the prog... then you cannot select the option in Evox..

should be with ur dash... settings
Box: XBOX ver 1.1
Mod: Xecutor 2.3 lite+
Hdd: WD 80GB
Dash: Evox, Ava, XBMC
Linux: Gentoox Pro 4.2

Anastrophe
Novice
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2003 3:41 am

Post by Anastrophe » Sun Jan 23, 2005 11:35 am

does something like In Game Reset still cause problems if enabled in a dash?

jahme
Banned Losers
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2005 12:32 am

Post by jahme » Thu Jan 27, 2005 3:03 am

ur files of gentoox might be corrupted and/or deleted thats why the system cant respond anymore than shutting down

tawong
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 5:22 pm

Post by tawong » Thu Jan 27, 2005 7:16 pm

I have the same problem, but I fixed it by changing the Xbox video resolution to normal. Since I have widescreen HDTV i had 480p, 720p, & 1080i mode turned on in the video mode. the reason gentoox didn't boot with that mode is probably because the bootscreen is not in progressive mode. just my 2cent but not entirely sure. its still pain because i had to change the video mode everytime i want to use gentoox but still want to play games in hdtv resolution.

User avatar
winterborne
Pro
Posts: 93
Joined: Mon Nov 17, 2003 9:45 am
Location: Canada

Post by winterborne » Wed Feb 02, 2005 4:16 am

I had the same experience. I use an X2VGA and to play games and all that I set my xbox to 720p. Gentoox won't load (fan spins up and screen goes black) if I try and load it like that though. Have to switch between video modes when booting gentoox vs. a game.

WisdomWolf
Novice
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2003 3:21 am
Location: IL
Contact:

Post by WisdomWolf » Sun May 22, 2005 8:33 pm

I had the same problem when launching from UnleashX while connected to my HDTV with component cables. I was able to get gentoox to launch by using the latest version of XBMC set to auto for the screen resolution under settings. XBMC displays in 1080i, but gentoox didn't have any options beyond 720p. Try downloading the latest XBMC and make sure your screen settings are set at auto.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests