Gentoox Greyed Out In EvoX Menu

A place to ask all newbie questions and not get flamed, though you will get beaten down if you post a newbieish question outside of these walls.
Post Reply
SuperDavey
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jun 17, 2006 12:43 pm

Gentoox Greyed Out In EvoX Menu

Post by SuperDavey » Sat Jun 17, 2006 12:48 pm

Newbie here! Hence the forum. ;)

I followed the instuctions to install GentooX via FTP - the contents of distro.rar have been uploaded in the root of the e: drive, and I've successfully added it to the EvoX menu. The problem is, in the menu, GentooX is greyed out and won't select.

I think this MIGHT have something to do with the rootfs $gb+ file. I uploaded it, and while DVD2XBOX can see it, and sufficient HDD space is taken up, my FTP client is not showing it in the e: drive. Can anyone help, please? :)

Also, while I'm here, is there any way to increase the partitions on the HDD? I'd ideally like to decrease the f: drive by 2Gb and increase the e: drive by that same 2Gb.

StickyIckyBud
Novice
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2006 6:20 am

Post by StickyIckyBud » Sat Jun 17, 2006 2:16 pm

as for resizing the partitions you should try xbepartition

1) Evox sucks XBMC should be everyones main dash board... or maybe avalaunch.... or unleashX... but those three should be enough... definately not Evox!

2) can you launch gentooxx.xbe (don't forget the second x) from a file manager? All three above dashboards have one built in.

SuperDavey
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jun 17, 2006 12:43 pm

Post by SuperDavey » Sat Jun 17, 2006 2:25 pm

EvoX is my dashboard of choice, I'm afraid.

I launch the xbe from DVD2XBOX AND from Avalaunch, which is built into EvoX, but it just returns me to the dash.

orochi
Gentoox Guru!
Posts: 606
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2004 8:11 am

Post by orochi » Sun Jun 18, 2006 12:07 am

its greyed out because the path you inputted is wrong, doublecheck your settings in the evox.ini

StickyIckyBud
Novice
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2006 6:20 am

Post by StickyIckyBud » Sun Jun 18, 2006 11:11 pm

I agree with orochi - if its greyed out it has to be an invalid path...

But its strange that it won't launch from a file manager...

Is gentooxx.xbe in the root of e? (e:\)
What other gentoox related files are in the same directory - maybe you're missing something?

drumstyx
Linux User
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2006 11:32 pm

Post by drumstyx » Thu Jun 22, 2006 7:20 pm

in my experience....if u put something in the evox.ini with an incorrect path....it doesnt show up on the menu....but i dont like evox much anyway....but i also dont like XBMC :-p....not customizeable enough for me

orochi
Gentoox Guru!
Posts: 606
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2004 8:11 am

Post by orochi » Fri Jun 23, 2006 7:07 am

StickyIckyBud wrote:I agree with orochi - if its greyed out it has to be an invalid path...

But its strange that it won't launch from a file manager...

Is gentooxx.xbe in the root of e? (e:\)
What other gentoox related files are in the same directory - maybe you're missing something?
Check the syntax and path for the .xbe you are trying to load (in this case its gentooxx.xbe) Additional missing files (swap rootfs etc) have no bearing on evox, if these files are missing than when gentooxx.xbe is run it will not load gentoox, but gentoox is still executed

User avatar
blighty
Adept
Posts: 56
Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2006 9:36 am
Contact:

Post by blighty » Fri Jun 30, 2006 9:25 pm

I always used to rename it to default.xbe and put it in a folder on it's own in the e drive. and edit the ini to reflect this.

bLiGhTy.
2x xbox v1.0 gentoox home native
2x stock 10GB`s (both built for free :D )

Thanks 2 cheesyboofs, Steinar T & of course ShALLaX.

Falcon; jtag, xbr, 160gb hdd

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests