Is it worth it??

A place to ask all newbie questions and not get flamed, though you will get beaten down if you post a newbieish question outside of these walls.
JungMin

Is it worth it??

Post by JungMin »

I can honestly say i know nuthin about linux. I am fairly new to my modded xbox.

I am trying to decide whether to install Gentoox. From reading the forums, I can install it onto my 'E' drive and have it not affect anything else (programs, game backups, my 'F' drive). And my EvoX dashboard should work fine - I think i can just add an option to load GentooX whenever i want to use it.

BUT..............alot of people have problems it looks like!!!! 90% of them i dont have a clue what they are talking about!!! I dunno if I will be able to fix them if something comes up. I am extremely familiar with windows, but like i said, know nuthing about linux.

Should I take the chance and try it out??? Is it worth it??....I dont wanna fry my xbox.

What do ya think??
JungMin

Post by JungMin »

I am getting confused.....Getting tired too - maybe thats it. But this has me confused....
d34thr3c0n wrote:ok... i just downloaded the home edition and was wondering which installation method i should use. I DO want to KEEP EVERYTHING that is on my drive(C,E, and F)! would i use the E or F install... or would it be best to use the FTP install
Keep in mind that i want to keep everything. which install would not format my drives?
ShALLaX wrote:You can select either E, F or do FTP. None of these will wipe out your drive.
These make sence from what I have read.....BUT......
arbillman wrote:I have a modded xbox with 120GB of storage (F:\) which is about 50% free. I am using Evolution X for my dashboard.