no video with stardust bios (home v3)?

A place to ask all newbie questions and not get flamed, though you will get beaten down if you post a newbieish question outside of these walls.
Post Reply
mandoman
Linux User
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jul 21, 2004 10:52 pm

no video with stardust bios (home v3)?

Post by mandoman » Thu Jul 22, 2004 11:40 pm

I've got a new Xenium Ice installed on a 1.4 xbox. I've flashed
both resolution stardust bioses with no problems,
however, I get no video with either bios. The controller rumbles,
the eject led cycles colors, and the dvd ejects to take the Stardust.iso cd,
but NO VIDEO.

Anyone else have problems with this modchip/bios combo? Other bioses I've tried
work just fine.

Any suggestion on how to resolve this before I go to an 'ftp' install?
Is there antoher bios I should try?
Or should I even try an ftp install at all if I can't get simple video working?

Thanks,
mandoman

User avatar
ShALLaX
Site Admin
Posts: 1973
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 9:25 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Post by ShALLaX » Sat Jul 24, 2004 6:26 am

My "suggestion" is to read the news archives ;) You need the new Gentoox loader (available in the download section). Good luck.
The original Xbox adaptation of Gentoo

mandoman
Linux User
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jul 21, 2004 10:52 pm

Post by mandoman » Sun Jul 25, 2004 6:12 am

Shallax,

Thanks for the reply. With the new bootloader, I was able to
get gentoox installed with Stardust ('F' install). However, when
I reboot the system, I get a pink flickering screen and can't read a thing.

I've read the tutorials and understand that I need to ssh in and
run magic. I've setup my router exactly as described, but can't
seem to ssh in. In linux, I run:

ssh 192.168.1.13
and get either:
ssh: connect to host 192.168.1.13 port 22: Operation timed out
or
ssh: connect to host 192.168.1.13 port 22: No route to host

Pinging to that address gives:

PING 192.168.1.13 (192.168.1.13): 56 data bytes
ping: sendto: Host is down
ping: wrote 192.168.1.13 64 chars, ret=-1

So it doesn't look like linux bootup is getting as far as running
the ssh server. Any clues?

Thanks,
mandoman

mandoman
Linux User
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jul 21, 2004 10:52 pm

Post by mandoman » Mon Jul 26, 2004 6:14 pm

OK, so I reinstalled via ftp method and was able
to ssh in, get magic running, and now everything is running
just fine.

Now I just need to find the suitable .xbe
to replace the bootloader gentoox.xbe so I go straight
into linux and I'm all set, resize the text fonts larger for a composite video
connection (I hope s-video support comes out soon!),
find/load a suitable cromwell bios (I can't flash directly to my modchip),
and run magic f-drive to move things over to my f drive.

Question. In the focus tutorial it says to use XFCE window manager.
Does that mean KDE does not run on a Focus chip?
Not that I'd use KDE anyway (to bloated/slow on 64MB ram),
I'm just curious.

Thanks,
mandoman

:lol:

SkateorDie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2004 9:03 pm
Location: Norfolk, VA
Contact:

Post by SkateorDie » Mon Jul 26, 2004 9:13 pm

hey i have the same problem. I tried both stardust bios' on my xenium(not the ice) and i didnt get any video(version 1.5 xbox). can you IM me at mjolnir683 because im a complete noob to xbox linux(and linux in general)

mandoman
Linux User
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jul 21, 2004 10:52 pm

Post by mandoman » Tue Jul 27, 2004 12:18 am

Skateordie,

Try using the gentoox loader here:
http://gentoox.shallax.com/modules.php? ... tit&lid=17

Contains a bios and .xbe that should boot your stardust.iso disc (stardust install)
and/or load your gentooxx.xbe (ftp install).

You may stiill have video trouble after the install, so follow the tutorial 'add focus support'
to run 'magic' via 'ssh'. Magic will self update gentoox (takes ~5 hours) and fix
the video for you.

Everything you need to get things running is described in the tutorials section.

mandoman

SkateorDie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2004 9:03 pm
Location: Norfolk, VA
Contact:

Post by SkateorDie » Tue Jul 27, 2004 4:34 am

Thanks, I'll get on it! :twisted:
My Xbox
Chip: Xenium with XOS1.1
Bios: X2_4983.67
Dash: MediaXMenu
HDD: 120GB Western Digital

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests