Gentoox and virtual memory

Anything that doesn't fit into the other categories goes here - even non-Gentoox related posts can go here! Keep it clean, no flaming!
Post Reply
DOGSMAN
Adept
Posts: 63
Joined: Sun Jun 27, 2004 11:00 am

Gentoox and virtual memory

Post by DOGSMAN » Sun Aug 01, 2004 10:02 am

I read somewhere last night that the xbox has got over 2 gig of vm, Is it not possible for future releases of gentoox to use the this or is the vm not compatible with linux. How would virtual memory affect the speed of linux on the box.

User avatar
Trogdor
Gentoox Guru!
Posts: 553
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2003 9:57 pm
Location: MOUNT TAPE U1439 ON B3, NO RING

Post by Trogdor » Sun Aug 01, 2004 5:03 pm

Whoever wrote this didn't know what he/she was talking about, AFAIK. Virtual Memory, AKA ``swap space,'' or, in the M$ Windows world, ``page file,'' is simply using secondary memory (like the hard drive) to perform a similar duty as primary memory (Core, for example, RAM). There should be no reason that Linux can access all of the hard drive except the VM. As another aside, Linux has its own swap space at /swap (of your XBOX filesystem, not your linux filesystem).
MOUNT TAPE U1439 ON B3, NO RING

Q: HOW DO I RUN MAGIC ??
A: You run magic by not typing in capital letters.

Taily
Adept
Posts: 63
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 11:46 am

Post by Taily » Sun Aug 01, 2004 6:23 pm

And that swap file is 256mb if i remember correctly

User avatar
Trogdor
Gentoox Guru!
Posts: 553
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2003 9:57 pm
Location: MOUNT TAPE U1439 ON B3, NO RING

Post by Trogdor » Sun Aug 01, 2004 10:56 pm

Taily wrote:And that swap file is 256mb if i remember correctly
Correct.
MOUNT TAPE U1439 ON B3, NO RING

Q: HOW DO I RUN MAGIC ??
A: You run magic by not typing in capital letters.

User avatar
ShALLaX
Site Admin
Posts: 1973
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 9:25 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Post by ShALLaX » Mon Aug 02, 2004 1:31 am

There is absolutely no point in having swap above 256mb.
The original Xbox adaptation of Gentoo

User avatar
nobspangle
Gentoox Guru!
Posts: 1681
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2003 11:59 am
Location: Manchester, UK

Post by nobspangle » Mon Aug 02, 2004 6:35 am

ShALLaX wrote:There is absolutely no point in having swap above 256mb.


So having more than 256MB is something you'd never do :wink:
If you keep an open mind, will your brain fall out?

Taily
Adept
Posts: 63
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2004 11:46 am

Post by Taily » Mon Aug 02, 2004 7:07 am

nobspangle wrote:
ShALLaX wrote:There is absolutely no point in having swap above 256mb.


So having more than 256MB is something you'd never do :wink:


Nice sample nobspangle :D

Actually on my totally native gentoo i have something like 350 :/ couldn't hava cared less when i was using fdisk xD.. (i know its more than enough tho)

btw, shallax, on my gentoo install, i tried once to get that phpSys stuff to work, i compiled xboxtemp and put it in my bin folder but it just wouldn't display the temps or the fan speed :(
is there something additional you use, kinda.. or?
thanks :D (maybe its not the right place to ask but i can't bother making a topic about it)

DOGSMAN wrote:I read somewhere last night that the xbox has got over 2 gig of vm, Is it not possible for future releases of gentoox to use the this or is the vm not compatible with linux. How would virtual memory affect the speed of linux on the box.


You sure that person wasn't talking about windows? :lol:

User avatar
ShALLaX
Site Admin
Posts: 1973
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 9:25 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Post by ShALLaX » Mon Aug 02, 2004 8:08 am

Youll find you will never fully swap 256mb with an Xbox unless youre doing something REALLY major. In fact, its reported that swap greater than 512mb is pointless for any "domestic" computer.
The original Xbox adaptation of Gentoo

User avatar
nobspangle
Gentoox Guru!
Posts: 1681
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2003 11:59 am
Location: Manchester, UK

Post by nobspangle » Mon Aug 02, 2004 3:00 pm

I assume you mean any domestic linux computer. My windows box will happily consume more than that depending on the task at hand.
If you keep an open mind, will your brain fall out?

User avatar
Trogdor
Gentoox Guru!
Posts: 553
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2003 9:57 pm
Location: MOUNT TAPE U1439 ON B3, NO RING

Post by Trogdor » Mon Aug 02, 2004 6:02 pm

My general rule for swap is twice the primary memory, truncated at 512 mb.
MOUNT TAPE U1439 ON B3, NO RING

Q: HOW DO I RUN MAGIC ??
A: You run magic by not typing in capital letters.

User avatar
ShALLaX
Site Admin
Posts: 1973
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 9:25 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Post by ShALLaX » Thu Dec 02, 2004 2:45 pm

I honestly dont know why i made a 450mb swap... I was probably dealing with posts like this at the time and mistyped ;)
The original Xbox adaptation of Gentoo

User avatar
nobspangle
Gentoox Guru!
Posts: 1681
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2003 11:59 am
Location: Manchester, UK

Post by nobspangle » Fri Dec 03, 2004 6:56 pm

I just built three new terminal servers at work (windows) they have 4GB RAM and 8GB swap, windows is rubbish
If you keep an open mind, will your brain fall out?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest