Xbox Server

Ask questions regarding Gentoox, Gentoo and Linux in general in these forums and we'll do our best to help you!
Post Reply
GamE
Novice
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2004 3:07 pm

Xbox Server

Post by GamE » Thu Feb 05, 2004 4:37 am

OK Guys, Here is my question.

Right now Im running Apache2. Currently I also have a Network Everywhere router from my main pc to my xbox.

I want to purchase a domain name and have it assigned to my xbox but have no idea where to start.

Can anyone help me out with this?

Right now to connect to my webpages i have to type http://192.168.1.101.
I would like to be able to connect to it from anywhere.

I dont necessarly need a domain name but i'm just confused since im running a router and all my ip addresses are 192.168's.

How can I do this?

Thanks

razorrifh
Newbie
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2003 11:48 pm

Post by razorrifh » Thu Feb 05, 2004 6:43 am

well 192.*.*.* is an internal ip range, meaning that is not viewable to people outside your network. goto http://www.whatismyip.com to get your external ip number (theres other ways but thats the easiest.) you neeed to set your router to accept incoming connections on port 80 and forward them to 192.168.1.101 (i would set the xbox to ALWAYS get the ip of 192.168.1.101 from the router, aka statically)

when you buy the domain, make sure it comes with dns editing features, some companies make you have to email them to change the settings and some have a nice web control panel to do it. if you have a web control panel you can edit it yourself. you would need to edit the dns settings to resolve to your external ip addy at port 80. (i'm not sure if you point the port in the dns settings cuz i've never done it but if you need to you know :D)

hm.. i'm pretty sure thats it. make sure you have your local network setup right before you buy the domain or anything cuz you'll be wasting days on your domain service if not. and to test it, i would have someone not at your house to type your external ip at port 80 and see if it works (http://xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:80 change the xxx's to your ip) also, if you dont have a static ip you'll need to use a service like http://www.dyndns.com (or .org) there's others but you can find them :)

note: even if you have DSL or Cable internet service, your ip will probably get updated every few days. i'm not sure if this is because the router will see that the ip's lease is up and when it tries to renew it gets a new one, or if its a security feature set by the companies to help prevent always on connections from being hacked. this is the way my isp is (Verizon, USA).

hope this helps.

trixter
Adept
Posts: 65
Joined: Thu Sep 25, 2003 7:25 pm

Post by trixter » Thu Feb 05, 2004 1:20 pm

dyndnsupdate is a linux program you can emerge that will keep your IP updated if it gets dynamically reset. Use it with a service like dyndns.org and their custom domain name service.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests