Newbie need help to flash chip from Gentoox Pro.

Ask questions regarding Gentoox, Gentoo and Linux in general in these forums and we'll do our best to help you!
Post Reply
wacco
Linux User
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2004 8:06 pm

Newbie need help to flash chip from Gentoox Pro.

Post by wacco » Thu Jan 29, 2004 8:12 pm

Unfortunately a mate downloaded the pro version of Gentoox.
I wanted the home edition, but anyways, I need help to flash my chip from the Linux bios to my old bios who's located in C:\bios and is named 4979.bin
(256k is the size)...

So I need step by step help here..
I do not have a keyboard, so I'm using the Xpad.
I know that you can flash the chip with some commands.

Could anyone tell me how to do this step-by-step, because I really am a newbie to Linux.

User avatar
nobspangle
Gentoox Guru!
Posts: 1681
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2003 11:59 am
Location: Manchester, UK

Post by nobspangle » Thu Jan 29, 2004 9:04 pm

read the tutorial
If you keep an open mind, will your brain fall out?

wacco
Linux User
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2004 8:06 pm

Post by wacco » Fri Jan 30, 2004 3:08 pm

login with su - as root does not work...
So I login as Root and password as usual, and use the raincoat -p /mnt/c/bios/4979.bin then it says that it cant open file!
It detects modchip, and the bios size, but it cant open the bios...
Same thing when I use efrmt.bin who's evoXm7 ....

Do I have to use the mkdir /mnt/c mount etc. command to make it work?
And is logging in with root ok?

User avatar
nobspangle
Gentoox Guru!
Posts: 1681
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2003 11:59 am
Location: Manchester, UK

Post by nobspangle » Fri Jan 30, 2004 3:36 pm

when it says to login as root with su - it means when you are logged in as someuser not root type su - to switch to root. Logging straight in as root is fine.
Before you can find the bios you will have to mount the C drive as it is not mounted by default.

Code: Select all

mkdir /mnt/c
mount -t fatx /dev/hda51 /mnt/c
then make sure the file exists

Code: Select all

ls /mnt/fatx/c/bios
should give something like

Code: Select all

bios.bin
then you should be able to run your raincoat command
If you keep an open mind, will your brain fall out?

wacco
Linux User
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2004 8:06 pm

Post by wacco » Fri Jan 30, 2004 5:09 pm

Thnak you very much.
I think this will make all my problems go away :) .

Sorry about being a newbie on Linux and everything.
I'm not bad or n00b at all when it comes to .xbe things.

Thank you again.

wacco
Linux User
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2004 8:06 pm

Post by wacco » Fri Jan 30, 2004 5:26 pm

When I type the first command it says "Invalid option --t".
What should I do?

wacco
Linux User
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2004 8:06 pm

Post by wacco » Fri Jan 30, 2004 6:10 pm

Should I remove -t and some more or not?
And on the


mkdir /mnt/c
mount -t fatx etc. should there be a space between "c" and "mount"?

when I do the command without the -T it says cant create folder, and that file exists etc..

I would be glad if someone could tell me JUST EXACTLY very newbie friendly how to flash bios the easiest way in pro.

User avatar
nobspangle
Gentoox Guru!
Posts: 1681
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2003 11:59 am
Location: Manchester, UK

Post by nobspangle » Fri Jan 30, 2004 10:08 pm

the first command creates a directory in /mnt called c once you have run that you don't need to do it again it's done if you do

Code: Select all

ls /mnt
you will see fatx cdrom and your new c
the second command mounts the C drive in that directory (or in unix terms at that mount point)
"mount" is the mount command
"-t fatx" tells the system it is a fatx partition (t stands for type like filetype) make sure you have -t not --t or -T
"/dev/hda51" is the name of the partition (device/hard disk A partition 51)
"/mnt/c" is the name of the mount point
each part of the command should be typed exactly as I have written it with a space between the mount must go at the beginning and the device and mount point must be in the order device,mountpoint the -t fatx can go anywhere after the mount e.g.

Code: Select all

mount -t fatx /dev/hda51 /mnt/c
raincoat -p /mnt/c/bios/4979.bin
Oh look I've justed wasted my time pointlessly repeating myself and reiterating exactly what was in the tutorial.

you've asked questions like
Do I have to use the mkdir /mnt/c mount etc. command to make it work?
I ask, would it be in the tutorial if you didn't?

Read it properly and don't ask any more stupid questions
If you keep an open mind, will your brain fall out?

DarkManX4lf
Novice
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2004 5:15 pm
Location: New York

Post by DarkManX4lf » Fri Jan 30, 2004 11:35 pm

how did you even get pro to work, i couldnt get it to work for me for some reason, i install run magic and get errors that xfcepatch1 is not available or its a invalid selection :(

wacco
Linux User
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2004 8:06 pm

Post by wacco » Sat Jan 31, 2004 1:07 pm

Thanks, almost there...
It detects my chip, SSt something..

But when I type the command to flash it says un-able to open file or something like that.

wacco
Linux User
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2004 8:06 pm

Post by wacco » Sat Jan 31, 2004 6:27 pm

Looks like I have moved the bios to another diretory..
I'm getting home next week, so that's nice.

Is there possible to transfer files with a file manager on home?

User avatar
ShALLaX
Site Admin
Posts: 1973
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 9:25 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Post by ShALLaX » Sat Jan 31, 2004 6:57 pm

Like i said, dont copy and paste the commands, its a single -t, not --t :\ Why did you choose to use the pro edition when you obviously arent good enough to use it?
The original Xbox adaptation of Gentoo

wacco
Linux User
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2004 8:06 pm

Post by wacco » Sun Feb 01, 2004 10:37 am

It was a mistake.
I wont bother you more now.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 21 guests