Overscan for 640x480 Focus / 1 - 1.3 xbox ?

Ask questions regarding Gentoox, Gentoo and Linux in general in these forums and we'll do our best to help you!
Post Reply
shockwave
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2004 9:04 am

Overscan for 640x480 Focus / 1 - 1.3 xbox ?

Post by shockwave » Tue Jan 27, 2004 9:10 am

I currently have a Samsung HDTV Projection TV and I have a version 1.1 Xbox.

I am currently Experiencing OVERSCAN on HDTV mode 640 x 480. This is also the mode that works the best. it has Quite of bit of Overscan.. I was wondering if this will be fixed along with Gentoox Focus overscan problem.. or if there is another way I can get rid of this overscan?

Thanks.

User avatar
nobspangle
Gentoox Guru!
Posts: 1681
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2003 11:59 am
Location: Manchester, UK

Post by nobspangle » Tue Jan 27, 2004 5:07 pm

why would you use 640x480 on hdtv? Isn't the whole point of HDTV that it is higher resolution. You should be using 480p if your screen is 4:3 or 720p if your screen is 16:9 otherwise your HDTV is a big waste of money
If you keep an open mind, will your brain fall out?

shockwave
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2004 9:04 am

Post by shockwave » Wed Jan 28, 2004 2:21 am

640x480 is 480p ... p is progressive which is the same ast 640x480 resolution on your PC... its not 480i which is interlaced.

SO I am using 480p... thats what the overscan is on.

User avatar
nobspangle
Gentoox Guru!
Posts: 1681
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2003 11:59 am
Location: Manchester, UK

Post by nobspangle » Wed Jan 28, 2004 8:09 am

480p just means 480 progressive lines, it can be any number of pixels wide. Most HDTV allow around 800-900 horizontal pixels in 480p mode, I just assumed the xbox would take advantage of this. It seems to make HDTV support a bit of a waste of time (I know the picture is a lot clearer because it is progessive rather than interlaced) but 640x480 us a pretty crappy resolution unless you are only watching movies, using the console or playing games.
If you keep an open mind, will your brain fall out?

shockwave
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2004 9:04 am

Post by shockwave » Wed Jan 28, 2004 8:52 am

why would you use 640x480 on hdtv? Isn't the whole point of HDTV that it is higher resolution. You should be using 480p if your screen is 4:3 or 720p if your screen is 16:9 otherwise your HDTV is a big waste of money
<<EDIT>>You even proved yourself wrong... You told me to use 480p.. WHICH I stated I was!.. HDTV allows you to get to the resolution 640x480 and above.. so I don't understand why you even post.<<EDIT>>

As I was saying I don't have Widescreen.. so I dont want anything else than a 4:3 aspect ratio... output.. I.E 640x480 .. This is also the "native" output of the TV... and I didn't POST this topic to argue about 480p and the resolution. I asked a SIMPLE question about the overscan issue and you are quite worthless in answering. now I see where your massive posts came from.. nothing useful. So unless you have anything USEFULL to add to the situation.. I would ask to just not REPLY. Thank you.

User avatar
ShALLaX
Site Admin
Posts: 1973
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 9:25 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Post by ShALLaX » Fri Jan 30, 2004 1:22 pm

Just FYI: 480p == 720x480, 720p == 1280x720.

However, Xfree seems bugged, so 480p in gentoox is actually 704x480
The original Xbox adaptation of Gentoo

nynx
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 1:29 pm
Location: Vegas

Post by nynx » Wed Feb 04, 2004 4:09 am

I'm seeing the same issue. Currently I'm testing to try and find a solution.
It seems there must be a solution. The display had no overscan whatsoever upon initial install. There must be some setting I'm overlooking or a problem with the display setup. Unfortunately I'm a little scared of touching XFreeafter my last experience. I installed and magic'd my box. I then changed res in XFree and wound up reinstalling. Couldn't ssh. Nothing.

In the FAQs it states that if you change resolution in XFree and your box reboots to nothing (or something to that effect) then you need to reinstall. This quote seems to say that the problem in itself is XFree.

Since reinstalling I FTP'd 2 separate copies of the gentoox installation to my desktop.

1) Stock form exactly as it was post CD install.
2) All magic updates installed.

I've tested all modes in the updated installation in order to try to find a happy medium. My tube is a Sony 4:3 32HS500 capable of 480i, 480p, 720p and 1080i.

Regular TV modes yielded a blank screen.
VGA modes worked but overscan persists, nearly the same amount as HD modes.
HDTV modes all exhibit overscan.

Should I revert to the previous versions of xbvset and xfree? I would guess this can be done with emerge? I'm happy to help with any testing needed. I did read that Shallax doesn't have a HDTV since it wouldn't do much good in the UK.

nynx
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 1:29 pm
Location: Vegas

Post by nynx » Wed Feb 04, 2004 10:58 pm

*bump* following post edit

drahz
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2004 8:36 pm

Post by drahz » Mon Feb 16, 2004 3:30 am

If you read the game manuals they say in the first page that RUNING ANY GAME ON YOUR PROJECTION TV CAN BE VERY BAD TO THE HEALT OF YOUR TV. just thought you might like to know.
meh

Boing
Novice
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2004 10:14 pm

Post by Boing » Mon Feb 16, 2004 11:39 am

OMG!!!!! I knew there was a reason I stopped playing games and decided to run Linux instead!

Boing Boing Boing!!!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests