Newbie Needs Help with FTP (Sharing dialup connection)

Ask questions regarding Gentoox, Gentoo and Linux in general in these forums and we'll do our best to help you!
MAD_23

Newbie Needs Help with FTP (Sharing dialup connection)

Post by MAD_23 »

First of all, Hi to all of you ppl and thanks to Shallax for making such a nice and easy way to install Gentoox on our Xbox.

I'm a newbie at Linux but not with the Xbox. I can FTP to my xbox to transfer my files back and forth. What I really want is to share my internet connection with my xbox through my network cards and a Crossover Cable. I have everything connected and I've went through the FTP tutorial more then once. But I still can't get it to work. I'm getting frustrated, I've had linux installed since Saturday and I still cant get it to work. I hope to find some help on this forum. I'm not a networking expert either.... I just want to be able to use the internet with Gentoox.....

I'm going to try to give as much info as possible so it's easier for somone to give me a answer and not ask me about my settings.

First I'll tell you about my xbox settings I have a X2lite with the 4977 bios, a Maxtor 80g and also an additional PC DVD-Rom and 2 usb ports.

I have made a F drive installation and I enter gentoox with gentoox.xbe

My FTP settings in Gentoox are: (I use XFce).

File: /etc/conf.d/net

iface_eth0 = "192.168.1.2 broadcast 192.168.1.255
netmask 255.255.255.0"

gateway = "eth0/192.168.1.1

Also in the file: /etc/resolv.conf
I've added this:

nameserver 198.164.30.2
nameserver 198.164.4.2

those are my ISP DNS

I thinks that's it for my xbox settings.

Now with my computer settings:

I have Windows XP PRO, I've shared my internet connection.

My network card settings are:
(network card connected to the xbox with crossover cable)

TCP/IP

IP adress 192.168.1.1
Subnet Mask 255.255.255.0
Default gateway 192.168.1.255

Preferred DNS Server 198.164.30.2
Alternate DNS Server 198.164.4.2

There again my ISP DNS.