Booting

Ask questions regarding Gentoox, Gentoo and Linux in general in these forums and we'll do our best to help you!
Post Reply
faisalkm
Novice
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2003 8:01 am

Booting

Post by faisalkm » Thu Nov 20, 2003 8:28 am

Is it possibile to boot Gentoox with out connecting any controller / connecting to the TV? I mean just the power and network cable. I wanna use it as a server. Thats why...B'cauz now it's not working for me if i unplug the xpad and the connection to the tv

User avatar
fuz
Power user
Posts: 228
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2003 6:03 am
Location: sunshine coast, Australia
Contact:

Post by fuz » Thu Nov 20, 2003 8:41 am

... cant see why you cant ... boot with the tv and controller run the server app then unplug... even though you should be able to ssh to it with only the network and power plugged in

nb: the xbox will fail to boot past bios hardware check without tv plugged in sooo that might be the problem
127.0.0.1, wherever you go.. there you are!

User avatar
rocketeer
Pro
Posts: 75
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2003 12:05 am

Post by rocketeer » Thu Nov 20, 2003 10:45 am

The tv doesn't have to be connected, however the cable does. Or you could wire the correct pins (9-13, 10-14) in the Xbox tv-out jack.
Read more...

User avatar
fuz
Power user
Posts: 228
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2003 6:03 am
Location: sunshine coast, Australia
Contact:

Post by fuz » Fri Nov 21, 2003 9:59 am

or that :P
127.0.0.1, wherever you go.. there you are!

User avatar
ShALLaX
Site Admin
Posts: 1973
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 9:25 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Post by ShALLaX » Fri Nov 21, 2003 2:58 pm

Nope, my xbox server boots fine without the tv cable. Literally, all thats plugged into it is network, power and usb cd-rw :P
The original Xbox adaptation of Gentoo

User avatar
nobspangle
Gentoox Guru!
Posts: 1681
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2003 11:59 am
Location: Manchester, UK

Post by nobspangle » Fri Nov 21, 2003 5:26 pm

ShALLaX wrote:Nope, my xbox server boots fine without the tv cable. Literally, all thats plugged into it is network, power and usb cd-rw :P
That's strange mine definatley won't turn on unless I have the AV cable plugged into the Xbox. The LED flashes green/orange and it just sits there. Maybe it's to do with the mod you have. I use the font hack so my Xbox essentially boots normally into the xbox bios then crashes and loads the other one.
If you keep an open mind, will your brain fall out?

User avatar
ShALLaX
Site Admin
Posts: 1973
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 9:25 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Post by ShALLaX » Fri Nov 21, 2003 5:38 pm

Probably because youre using an old hacked bios, the original bios.. or somethin weird.
The original Xbox adaptation of Gentoo

User avatar
fuz
Power user
Posts: 228
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2003 6:03 am
Location: sunshine coast, Australia
Contact:

Post by fuz » Mon Nov 24, 2003 10:14 am

just checked: mine boots without any connectors (power obviously :P) must be that you are using the font hack dude :wink:
127.0.0.1, wherever you go.. there you are!

User avatar
rocketeer
Pro
Posts: 75
Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2003 12:05 am

Post by rocketeer » Mon Nov 24, 2003 5:28 pm

Yeah I'm a font hacker...

faisalkm
Novice
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2003 8:01 am

Post by faisalkm » Tue Nov 25, 2003 1:39 pm

I'm using the stardust bios 800*600. I cant turn on without plugging in the cable. I have a mod chip installed.

faisalkm
Novice
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2003 8:01 am

Post by faisalkm » Tue Nov 25, 2003 1:40 pm

mine is not booting if i have the remote controller plugged in

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests