Xbox versions

Ask questions regarding Gentoox, Gentoo and Linux in general in these forums and we'll do our best to help you!
Post Reply
User avatar
clpalmer
Power user
Posts: 288
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2005 6:38 pm

Xbox versions

Post by clpalmer » Fri May 11, 2007 4:29 am

Is there any advantage/disadvantage to running on older versions of xbox? i know the 1.6 has it's issues, but is there anything I should be thinking about when buying something between 1.0 and 1.5? Is there anything that won't work or has issues with some of the older/newer versions?

User avatar
cheesyboofs
Power user
Posts: 239
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 1:32 pm
Location: Luton UK
Contact:

Post by cheesyboofs » Sun May 13, 2007 11:16 am

I don't think there is any benefit to Gentoox but I've always tried to obtain 1.2 -> 1.5's as these can be modded for 'free' without the need for a chip!
http://www.cheesyboofs.co.uk/site/tutorial02.html
If you purchase one off eBay say with a broken DVD drive ask the seller for the SN then you can check which version it is on this site: http://www.xbox-linux.org/wiki/Xbox_Versions_HOWTO
Go fully native, it's the destiny of all Mk1 XboxesImage
The needs of the many out way the needs of the few or the one ...

User avatar
clpalmer
Power user
Posts: 288
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2005 6:38 pm

Post by clpalmer » Thu May 17, 2007 10:10 pm

How come you say 1.2->1.5 instead of 1.0->1.5? What's the issue with 1.0 and 1.1 boxes? I have a 1.0 that's softmodded and running fine, but I didn't do the softmod on it (bought it already modded) so I don't know what the difference is.

User avatar
cheesyboofs
Power user
Posts: 239
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 1:32 pm
Location: Luton UK
Contact:

Post by cheesyboofs » Fri May 18, 2007 8:12 am

Oh no reason its just you cant mod 1.0, 1.1 and 1.6's by my preferred method, plus if you open a 1.0 or 1.1 the architecture looks more AT than ATX.
But they all run Gentoox fine.
Go fully native, it's the destiny of all Mk1 XboxesImage
The needs of the many out way the needs of the few or the one ...

User avatar
clpalmer
Power user
Posts: 288
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2005 6:38 pm

Post by clpalmer » Sun May 20, 2007 12:37 am

What's different with modding 1.0-1.1 instead of 1.2-1.5? Thought the wiring was a bit different with 1.0-1.1 but after that the rest of the procedure should be the same? (minus the need to create a 1MB bios instead of 256k). In any case, mine's already been softmodded, so I'm good to go =)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests