pro native install: reiser borked: can't login to repair?

Ask questions regarding Gentoox, Gentoo and Linux in general in these forums and we'll do our best to help you!
nobspangle
Gentoox Guru!
Posts: 1681
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2003 11:59 am
Location: Manchester, UK

Post by nobspangle »

If you have a native install small enough you can create a loop filesystem on e: copy the contents of your hda2 into it then reformat the drive in ext3 and copy everything back. If you have too much stuff installed on to your linux partition you could swap your harddisk into a PC and copy the files onto a drive there. Or you could move the partition using Acronis. Copy the data from the old partition to the new one, reformat the old one, copy the data back to the old one, delete the new one and resize the old one back using acronis.
If you keep an open mind, will your brain fall out?
scoobydu
Linux Expert
Posts: 107
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 6:08 pm

Post by scoobydu »

nobspangle wrote:If you have a native install small enough you can create a loop filesystem on e: copy the contents of your hda2 into it then reformat the drive in ext3 and copy everything back. If you have too much stuff installed on to your linux partition you could swap your harddisk into a PC and copy the files onto a drive there. Or you could move the partition using Acronis. Copy the data from the old partition to the new one, reformat the old one, copy the data back to the old one, delete the new one and resize the old one back using acronis.
Hi

Thanks for the pointers.

The loop file system sounds the easiest.

I’m using the default pro install, and haven’t installed anything else yet (until I get reiserfs off it)

How do I create the loop file system on e: ?

I’ll have to have a read, else pls enlighten me J

cheers
scooby
nobspangle
Gentoox Guru!
Posts: 1681
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2003 11:59 am
Location: Manchester, UK

Post by nobspangle »

To create the loop file system

Code: Select all

dd if=/dev/zero of=/mnt/fatx/e/rootfs count=2500 bs=1024k
yes | mkreiserfs -f /mnt/fatx/e/rootfs
Then you will have to boot your system using the stardust CD use ctrl+c to get out of the installer.

Code: Select all

mkdir /mnt/rootfs
mkdir /mnt/hda2
mount -t reiserfs -o loop /mnt/fatx/e/rootfs /mnt/rootfs
mount -t reiserfs /dev/hda2 /mnt/hda2
cp -avx /mnt/hda2/* /mnt/rootfs/
umount /mnt/hda2
mke2fs -j /dev/hda2
mount /dev/hda2 /mnt/hda2
cp -avx /mnt/rootfs/* /mnt/hda2/
umount /mnt/rootfs
umount /mnt/hda2
Reboot and check everything still works then

Code: Select all

rm /mnt/fatx/e/rootfs
By the way I have never used stardust so I am assuming that it mounts the Xbox E drive by default on startup in /mnt/fatx/e
Also I am assuming you have 2.5Gb of free space on E for the rootfs I am also assuming that as you haven't yet installed anything in Gentoox that you won't ming when I don't have a clue what I am on about and everything goes wrong, still you've got to learn somehow
If you keep an open mind, will your brain fall out?
fuz
Power user
Posts: 228
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2003 6:03 am
Location: sunshine coast, Australia
Contact:

Post by fuz »

thats a clever idea nobspangle... if only i could do a native.. need games or i will shrivel up
127.0.0.1, wherever you go.. there you are!
nobspangle
Gentoox Guru!
Posts: 1681
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2003 11:59 am
Location: Manchester, UK

Post by nobspangle »

I have a native install where the F partition should be and the rest of my Xbox works as normal I can still play games same as anybody else
If you keep an open mind, will your brain fall out?
fuz
Power user
Posts: 228
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2003 6:03 am
Location: sunshine coast, Australia
Contact:

Post by fuz »

my games are on f, the originals where stolen from my house :(
127.0.0.1, wherever you go.. there you are!
scoobydu
Linux Expert
Posts: 107
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 6:08 pm

Post by scoobydu »

nobspangle wrote:To create the loop file system

Code: Select all

dd if=/dev/zero of=/mnt/fatx/e/rootfs count=2500 bs=1024k
yes | mkreiserfs -f /mnt/fatx/e/rootfs
Then you will have to boot your system using the stardust CD use ctrl+c to get out of the installer.

Code: Select all

mkdir /mnt/rootfs
mkdir /mnt/hda2
mount -t reiserfs -o loop /mnt/fatx/e/rootfs /mnt/rootfs
mount -t reiserfs /dev/hda2 /mnt/hda2
cp -avx /mnt/hda2/* /mnt/rootfs/
umount /mnt/hda2
mke2fs -j /dev/hda2
mount /dev/hda2 /mnt/hda2
cp -avx /mnt/rootfs/* /mnt/hda2/
umount /mnt/rootfs
umount /mnt/hda2
Reboot and check everything still works then

Code: Select all

rm /mnt/fatx/e/rootfs
By the way I have never used stardust so I am assuming that it mounts the Xbox E drive by default on startup in /mnt/fatx/e
Also I am assuming you have 2.5Gb of free space on E for the rootfs I am also assuming that as you haven't yet installed anything in Gentoox that you won't ming when I don't have a clue what I am on about and everything goes wrong, still you've got to learn somehow
Thanks for the tips :)

This fails >>> mount -t reiserfs -o loop /mnt/fatx/e/rootfs /mnt/rootfs

still trying variations, probably will end up doing it on the pc.

cheers
scooby
nobspangle
Gentoox Guru!
Posts: 1681
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2003 11:59 am
Location: Manchester, UK

Post by nobspangle »

What is the error you get?
if you get a "No such file or directory" then I assume that the e drive isn't mounted automatically in stardust.
to solve this check which mounts are defined using mount you are looking for something like this

Code: Select all

# mount
/dev/hda50 on /mnt/fatx/e type fatx (rw)
or this

Code: Select all

# mount
/dev/ide/host0/bus0/target0/lun0/part50 on /mnt/fatx/e (rw)
if this line is missing (there will be others) you need to mount the e drive manually

Code: Select all

mkdir /mnt/fatx
mkdir /mnt/fatx/e
mount -t fatx /dev/ide/host0/bus0/target0/lun0/part50 /mnt/fatx/e
If you keep an open mind, will your brain fall out?
scoobydu
Linux Expert
Posts: 107
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 6:08 pm

Post by scoobydu »

Thx for the quick response.

changed this

mount -t reiserfs -o loop /mnt/fatx/e/rootfs /mnt/rootfs

for this:

mount -t reiserfs -o loop /mnt/e/rootfs /mnt/rootfs

and it all seams to work nicely :)

just need to change the fstab without an editor now :)

cheers
nobspangle
Gentoox Guru!
Posts: 1681
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2003 11:59 am
Location: Manchester, UK

Post by nobspangle »

Code: Select all

sed -e "s/reiserfs/ext3    " /mnt/hda2/etc/fstab > /tmp/fstab
mv /tmp/fstab /mnt/hda2/etc/fstab
chmod 644 /mnt/hda2/etc/fstab
that should sort you out
If you keep an open mind, will your brain fall out?
scoobydu
Linux Expert
Posts: 107
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 6:08 pm

Post by scoobydu »

nobspangle wrote:

Code: Select all

sed -e "s/reiserfs/ext3    " /mnt/hda2/etc/fstab > /tmp/fstab
mv /tmp/fstab /mnt/hda2/etc/fstab
chmod 644 /mnt/hda2/etc/fstab
that should sort you out
Did it the harder way :) but its done now, this is a neater way for me doing my other xbox, thx.

Still not quite there. There must be somewhere else that the disks are mounted, not just fstab.

The machine halts, as it can't find a reiserfs on hda2.

Is there a fstab in the initrd.gz on /mnt/fats/e ? thats mounts the disks on boot?

I'll mount the initrd and see if I can find anything...


cheers scooby
nobspangle
Gentoox Guru!
Posts: 1681
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2003 11:59 am
Location: Manchester, UK

Post by nobspangle »

There is I think it's in linuxrc you've probably found it by now
you can probablly do a "sed -e "s/reiserfs/ext3 /" /mnt/initrd/linuxrc" or something similar to sort it out
If you keep an open mind, will your brain fall out?
scoobydu
Linux Expert
Posts: 107
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 6:08 pm

Post by scoobydu »

nobspangle wrote:There is I think it's in linuxrc you've probably found it by now
you can probablly do a "sed -e "s/reiserfs/ext3 /" /mnt/initrd/linuxrc" or something similar to sort it out
Thanks for your help on this!

That files, got alot of crap in it, do I have to do something special with it?

Also do you know how to package the mounted initrd back as a file.

More reading, ho hum!
nobspangle
Gentoox Guru!
Posts: 1681
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2003 11:59 am
Location: Manchester, UK

Post by nobspangle »

once you have mounted the initrd loop (say in /mnt/initrd)

Code: Select all

sed -e "s/reiserfs/ext3/" /mnt/initrd/linuxrc > /tmp/linuxrc
rm -rf /mnt/initrd/linuxrc
mv /tmp/linuxrc /mnt/initrd/linuxrc
chmod 700 /mnt/initrd/linuxrc
umount /mnt/initrd
to gzip the initrd file just type "gzip ./initrd" or whatever path you have the initrd in
If you keep an open mind, will your brain fall out?
scoobydu
Linux Expert
Posts: 107
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 6:08 pm

Post by scoobydu »

Ok, followed this, everything looked fine.

Modified the initrd, gzipped and booted.

Xbox complains there is no initrd!?

damn so close, but no joy! yet :)
Post Reply