newb question about network and gentoox

Ask questions regarding Gentoox, Gentoo and Linux in general in these forums and we'll do our best to help you!
acartledge

newb question about network and gentoox

Post by acartledge »

i have just installed gentoox on my xbox and am having network trouble. I read the tut but am having trouble saving, something to do with i don't have permission. I had a thought that it might have been a read only problem or something like that as i am logged in as root.

I have done an e: install instead of native, could his be an an issue?

Sorry to bug everyone, i am a newb to linux and don't get it all, i am just trying to give myself a technical challenge.

Thanks
fuz
Power user

Post by fuz »

login as root and try again (root is a user, the highest user infact, like admin only real) the default password will be xbox
127.0.0.1, wherever you go.. there you are!
spathi
Novice

Post by spathi »

can you give us some more details?

what type of network problem are you having? can you write down any error messages or tell us any symptoms?

the more info you give us the easier it will be to help :)

you don't need to apologise for being new to linux.. everyone is at some point..
Linux - In a world without fences, who needs GATES?
acartledge

root

Post by acartledge »

ok, here is my stoopid question. How do i login as root?? When i boot up gentoox it logs me straight in and I can't see where to log in. I tried to open konsole to login using the su - command and am having real problems achieving anything.

What I want to know is why can't i open the net file in an editor in kde and have it save for me. I open /etc/conf.d/net and can edit it but when i go to save i have no permission.

I assume this has to do with being logged in as root not gentoox. So how do i, in KDE, log in as root?

Sorry if i am being daft, but i really like the look of this linux and would find it helpful, if only i can get the windows out of my brain!!

Thanks
spathi