Bad Filesystem?

Ask questions regarding Gentoox, Gentoo and Linux in general in these forums and we'll do our best to help you!
User avatar
blighty
Adept
Posts: 56
Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2006 9:36 am
Contact:

Post by blighty » Sun Aug 20, 2006 4:04 pm

Was starting to think I was a numpty till I checked these forums,

I`m having the same problem with Home 6.0a on a stock 10GB,

Hope It gets fixed cos I miss my gentoox & am having to use my pc alot more again now.

P.S. Shallax : - this is the one area that I cannot test as I do not have a hard drive with sufficient capacity for a native installation!

Have you not tried cheesyboofs Tut - only takes about 20 mins & you can use a stock 10GB hdd

bLiGhTy.
2x xbox v1.0 gentoox home native
2x stock 10GB`s (both built for free :D )

Thanks 2 cheesyboofs, Steinar T & of course ShALLaX.

Falcon; jtag, xbr, 160gb hdd

User avatar
GeniuX
Novice
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Aug 07, 2006 1:44 am
Location: Netherlands

Post by GeniuX » Sun Aug 20, 2006 11:11 pm

Linuxboot.cfg:

Code: Select all

title Gentoox
kernel /boot/vmlinuz
initrd no
append init=/linuxrc root=/dev/hda2 kbd-reset video=xbox:640x480,nohwcursor,hoc=13,voc=13
title Sparkle
kernel /boot/vmlinuz
initrd /boot/sprkrd.gz
append load_ramdisk=1 prompt_ramdisk=0 ramdisk_size=26215 rw root=/dev/hda2 kbd-reset
Also the fstab while I'm at it:

Code: Select all

# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
#
# <file system>         <mount point>   <type>          <options>                               <dump>  <pass>
/dev/hda1               none            swap            sw                                      0       0
/dev/hda2               /               reiserfs        defaults,errors=remount-ro              0       1
proc                    /proc           proc            defaults                                0       0
/dev/cdrom              /mnt/cdrom      iso9660         defaults,ro,user,noauto                 0       0
I'll download the initrd.gz and test is right away ;)
Drink a cup of cofee, help some n00bs, fix broken windows's, IT's a bitch huh :D

User avatar
ShALLaX
Site Admin
Posts: 1973
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 9:25 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Post by ShALLaX » Sun Aug 20, 2006 11:15 pm

Ahh, so its your fault.

Code: Select all

/dev/hda2               /               reiserfs        defaults,errors=remount-ro
That is wrong. Reiserfs does NOT support errors=remount-ro. Change it to "notail".

Code: Select all

/dev/hda2               /               reiserfs        notail
Could people clarify this for me? Did YOU add the /dev/hda2 line... or was it something the installation script did? If its something you added.. then it's not a bug with Gentoox at all (more a bug with the tutorial you followed), and the whole Pro v4.0b release was pointless :\
The original Xbox adaptation of Gentoo

User avatar
GeniuX
Novice
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Aug 07, 2006 1:44 am
Location: Netherlands

Post by GeniuX » Sun Aug 20, 2006 11:33 pm

It came from cheesyboofs tutorial :P:P
Then edit the fstab on the new drive;
# vi /mnt/hda2/etc/fstab
/dev/hda1 none swap sw 0 0
/dev/hda2 / reiserfs defaults,errors=remount-ro 0 1
Proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
It wasn't me... realy 8)
Drink a cup of cofee, help some n00bs, fix broken windows's, IT's a bitch huh :D

User avatar
ShALLaX
Site Admin
Posts: 1973
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 9:25 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Post by ShALLaX » Sun Aug 20, 2006 11:34 pm

Heh.. so all this has been a wild goose-chase "find the non-existant bug" for me.

Oh well... that line I gave you should fix it... let me know.
The original Xbox adaptation of Gentoo

User avatar
GeniuX
Novice
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Aug 07, 2006 1:44 am
Location: Netherlands

Post by GeniuX » Sun Aug 20, 2006 11:39 pm

Another thing...
I have 2 HDD's (10GB and 120GB)
I have Gentoox on the 10GB as a master HDD (slave modus; it won't boot), but the drive I'm adding doesn't support slave modus :(
But if I'm switching the drives (10GB Slave, 120GB Master) the bios doesn't see the Native install :(:(
Is it possible to put a 'linuxboot.cfg' on the 120GB HDD and point it to the bootfiles on the 10GB HDD???

:edit: Never mind.. I've messed around with the juper settings and it works, I'm now editting the fstab 8)
Do you still want me to test the initrd.gz?
Drink a cup of cofee, help some n00bs, fix broken windows's, IT's a bitch huh :D

User avatar
ShALLaX
Site Admin
Posts: 1973
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 9:25 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Post by ShALLaX » Mon Aug 21, 2006 12:04 am

No, you're not even using the initrd. You can delete it and your installation will still work.
The original Xbox adaptation of Gentoo

User avatar
GeniuX
Novice
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Aug 07, 2006 1:44 am
Location: Netherlands

Post by GeniuX » Mon Aug 21, 2006 12:14 am

The outcome of the 'notail edit' says "The filesystem IS clean" in stead of "The filesystem is NOT clean"
Thanx for the help (now cheesyboofs needs to fix the tutorial 8) )
Drink a cup of cofee, help some n00bs, fix broken windows's, IT's a bitch huh :D

User avatar
blighty
Adept
Posts: 56
Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2006 9:36 am
Contact:

Post by blighty » Mon Aug 21, 2006 5:40 am

ShALLaX wrote:
Could people clarify this for me? Did YOU add the /dev/hda2 line... or was it something the installation script did? If its something you added.. then it's not a bug with Gentoox at all (more a bug with the tutorial you followed), and the whole Pro v4.0b release was pointless :\
I was wondering about that too, Mine doesn`t have the dvd drive line, I don`t use the dvd drive either.

Sorry to hear about your premature release ;)

Edited this afternoon :D Works like a charm on home 6.0a as well. Nice one :wink:

bLiGhTy.
2x xbox v1.0 gentoox home native
2x stock 10GB`s (both built for free :D )

Thanks 2 cheesyboofs, Steinar T & of course ShALLaX.

Falcon; jtag, xbr, 160gb hdd

User avatar
cheesyboofs
Power user
Posts: 239
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 1:32 pm
Location: Luton UK
Contact:

Post by cheesyboofs » Tue Aug 22, 2006 2:57 pm

:oops: in my defence the bug didn't show up till shallax fixed it to notice the bug! Nice one guy's all round.
Go fully native, it's the destiny of all Mk1 XboxesImage
The needs of the many out way the needs of the few or the one ...

User avatar
ShALLaX
Site Admin
Posts: 1973
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 9:25 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Post by ShALLaX » Tue Aug 22, 2006 3:18 pm

;)
The original Xbox adaptation of Gentoo

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests