how do you run commands without the terminal

Ask questions regarding Gentoox, Gentoo and Linux in general in these forums and we'll do our best to help you!
Post Reply
lateralus
Novice
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Jun 10, 2006 3:35 pm

how do you run commands without the terminal

Post by lateralus » Mon Aug 07, 2006 5:42 pm

My terminal is not opening. One person said i needed to re-emerge xtern. Yeah ok i need the terminal to emerge things. This site says to emerge things i just need to "type it into a command line." yeah ok wtf is a command line. I need to run magic before i can emerge anything anyway WHICH I CANT DO WITHOUT THE TERMINAL!!! Is there another way where i wouldn't need the terminal? please help.


lateralus

lenny76
Linux User
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Aug 03, 2006 8:43 pm

Re: how do you run commands without the terminal

Post by lenny76 » Mon Aug 07, 2006 11:02 pm

lateralus wrote:My terminal is not opening. One person said i needed to re-emerge xtern. Yeah ok i need the terminal to emerge things. This site says to emerge things i just need to "type it into a command line." yeah ok wtf is a command line. I need to run magic before i can emerge anything anyway WHICH I CANT DO WITHOUT THE TERMINAL!!! Is there another way where i wouldn't need the terminal? please help.


lateralus
connect to xbox from another pc with a ssh terminal client (search in google PUTTY)
in this way you have all the terminals you want.

bye
Lenny

FlamingGooch
Novice
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2005 3:04 am
Contact:

Post by FlamingGooch » Thu Aug 17, 2006 9:26 pm

Ok, I did what you said Lenny, and it gives me this error:

--- 'profiles/arch.list' is empty or not available. Empty portage tree?
--- 'profiles/updates' is empty or not available. Empty portage tree?
!!! ARCH is not set... Are you missing the /etc/make.profile symlink?
!!! Is the symlink correct? Is your portage tree complete?

wtf does this mean? What do I have to do to get my terminal working?

lenny76
Linux User
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Aug 03, 2006 8:43 pm

Post by lenny76 » Fri Aug 18, 2006 5:02 pm

FlamingGooch wrote:Ok, I did what you said Lenny, and it gives me this error:

--- 'profiles/arch.list' is empty or not available. Empty portage tree?
--- 'profiles/updates' is empty or not available. Empty portage tree?
!!! ARCH is not set... Are you missing the /etc/make.profile symlink?
!!! Is the symlink correct? Is your portage tree complete?

wtf does this mean? What do I have to do to get my terminal working?
if you have this error I suppose you successfully accessed to the xbox from remote terminal.
this error comes from the command "emerge xterm"? (emerge in general)
you have to run this command before using emerge the first time

emerge --sync

then

emerge xterm

try it
and let us know

bye
Lenny

orochi
Gentoox Guru!
Posts: 606
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2004 8:11 am

Post by orochi » Fri Aug 18, 2006 6:39 pm

just run magic choose to emerge sync

and then emerge xterm


magic will fix the arch issue

FlamingGooch
Novice
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2005 3:04 am
Contact:

Post by FlamingGooch » Sat Aug 19, 2006 4:47 am

Ok thanks everyone it's all resolved. SSH to box, ran magic, did what it said with emerge --metadata, and it's all fine and good. I just need to figure out why gaim crashes when I try to talk to someone or someone messages me.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests