emerge/portage broken? "ARCH is not set"

Ask questions regarding Gentoox, Gentoo and Linux in general in these forums and we'll do our best to help you!
teitoku
Novice
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2004 5:29 pm
Contact:

emerge/portage broken? "ARCH is not set"

Post by teitoku » Sun Feb 12, 2006 9:59 am

I ran "emerge sync", and now I can't emerge anything.

I get this jibber jabber now when I try to run emerge.

Code: Select all

!!! /etc/make.profile is not a symlink and will probably prevent most merges.
!!! It should point into a profile within /usr/portage/profiles/
!!! (You can safely ignore this message when syncing. It's harmless.)


!!! ARCH is not set... Are you missing the /etc/make.profile symlink?
!!! Is the symlink correct? Is your portage tree complete?
etc/make.profile WAS a symlink, to a file/directory that did not exist when I checked. I deleted make.profile and re-created it as just a plain file. I deleted it again. There is no such file as /etc/make.profile, yet emerge still gives that same error.

How can I fix this whole mess so that I can use emerge once again?

bratz
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Dec 25, 2005 10:59 am

Post by bratz » Sun Feb 12, 2006 5:31 pm

I have the same problem. I did a new native install today, and magic doesn't want to work and emerge has the same problem as you have.
Xbox root # emerge ntp
!!! ARCH is not set... Are you missing the /etc/make.profile symlink?
!!! Is the symlink correct? Is your portage tree complete?

bratz
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Dec 25, 2005 10:59 am

Post by bratz » Sun Feb 12, 2006 5:54 pm

this is the error if I do an emerge sync
>>> Updating Portage cache: 88%!!! Cannot resolve a virtual package name to an ebuild.
!!! This is a bug, please report it. (virtual/libintl-0)

sevenlayercookie
Novice
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2006 11:51 pm

Post by sevenlayercookie » Sun Feb 12, 2006 6:04 pm

I had this problem a few days ago. The symlink by default is set to the wrong file. I hope you haven't messed it up by deleting make.profile... :? . But this is what I did to fix it...

Run

Code: Select all

unlink /etc/make.profile
Then

Code: Select all

ln -s /usr/portage/profiles/default-linux/x86/2005.0/ /etc/make.profile
Hope it works for you. If make.profile is gone, you might need to run magic or reinstall Gentoox.

orochi
Gentoox Guru!
Posts: 606
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2004 8:11 am

Post by orochi » Sun Feb 12, 2006 6:40 pm

deleting /etc/make.profile is fine, as long as you run the second command to symlink and put it back your ok


you might wanna run

ls -la /usr/portage/profiles/default-linux/x86/

and see what snapshot you have, it could be 2005.0 or even 2005.1 in either case

ln -s /usr/portage/profiles/default-linux/x86/2005.0(or 1)/ /etc/make.profile

should work

running
ls -la /etc/make.profile
should show the symlink to /usr/portage/profiles/default-linux/x86/2005.0 (or 1)/



[EDIT]
IIRC its not set wrong, when you run emerge sync && emerge system (or world) from the latest versions of Gentoox it updates portage, which need to have the new /etc/profile symlinked. Unless your sitting and watching everything scroll by on your screen you miss it. But every time you update portage you should have to resymlink the make.profile

bratz
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Dec 25, 2005 10:59 am

Post by bratz » Sun Feb 12, 2006 7:19 pm

I think I didn't do the resimlink, and the problem staid.

I'm now doing a new install, I hope it will work.

thx

teitoku
Novice
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2004 5:29 pm
Contact:

Post by teitoku » Mon Feb 13, 2006 9:07 pm

Thanks all, re-creating the symlink works great.

NEW PROBLEM THOUGH :x
It updated portage, and now the mofo can't find the kernel or something to boot from.
I plugged it in to my TV and I see that it fails "loading /vmlinuz". What do I do about THIS? Should I make a new topic?

ximmortalx
Linux User
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2006 10:24 pm
Contact:

Post by ximmortalx » Wed Feb 15, 2006 1:38 am

exact same thing happend to me when i re-installed home 4.0 2 weeks ago...havnt gotten it to work since :(

teitoku
Novice
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2004 5:29 pm
Contact:

Post by teitoku » Wed Feb 15, 2006 7:15 am

I fixed it, not too difficult. Post back with details of how you have gentoox installed and what it's doing and I'll see if I can help.

yak
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2006 7:56 pm

Symlink, Magic, or local /etc/make.conf problem?

Post by yak » Thu Feb 16, 2006 8:25 pm

Had the same problem on my new Pro 2.0 install onto f: . But there's also the problem with Magic right now:

viewtopic.php?t=3423

New to gentoo and gentoox, so I'm not sure which of these I should / may link:
  • /usr/portage/profiles/default-linux/x86/2005.0
    /usr/portage/profiles/default-linux/x86/2005.1
    /usr/portage/profiles/default-linux/x86/2006.0
    /usr/portage/profiles/default-linux/x86/xbox

Tried some of them with varied results... Not sure which are caused by the link, by magic being down, or by my local mods to /etc/make.conf .

But if I know which ones are OK to use, then magic comes back up, I'll know its my /etc/make.conf and can debug it.

sevenlayercookie
Novice
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2006 11:51 pm

Re: Symlink, Magic, or local /etc/make.conf problem?

Post by sevenlayercookie » Fri Feb 17, 2006 1:00 am

yak wrote:Had the same problem on my new Pro 2.0 install onto f: . But there's also the problem with Magic right now:

viewtopic.php?t=3423

New to gentoo and gentoox, so I'm not sure which of these I should / may link:
  • /usr/portage/profiles/default-linux/x86/2005.0
    /usr/portage/profiles/default-linux/x86/2005.1
    /usr/portage/profiles/default-linux/x86/2006.0
    /usr/portage/profiles/default-linux/x86/xbox

Tried some of them with varied results... Not sure which are caused by

the link, by magic being down, or by my local mods to /etc/make.conf .

But if I know which ones are OK to use, then magic comes back up, I'll know its my /etc/make.conf and can debug it.
Magic should be fixed now. Try these three... It only takes a second.
/usr/portage/profiles/default-linux/x86/2005.0
/usr/portage/profiles/default-linux/x86/2005.1
/usr/portage/profiles/default-linux/x86/2006.0

They vary, so could be any of these.

yak
Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2006 7:56 pm

2006.0 works

Post by yak » Fri Feb 17, 2006 3:06 am

Thanks! It's working with /usr/portage/profiles/default-linux/x86/2006.0 .

teitoku
Novice
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2004 5:29 pm
Contact:

Post by teitoku » Sun Feb 19, 2006 4:29 am

What exactly are all those profiles for? Mine was previously set on 2005.0 so that's what I re-set it to.

orochi
Gentoox Guru!
Posts: 606
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2004 8:11 am

Post by orochi » Sun Feb 19, 2006 5:26 am


User avatar
ShALLaX
Site Admin
Posts: 1973
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 9:25 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Post by ShALLaX » Tue Feb 21, 2006 5:38 pm

Running `magic` fixes your make.profile symlink to the correct one.. It always has had this functionality. Seems you could have saved a lot of hassle doing this ;p
The original Xbox adaptation of Gentoo

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests