GentooX Home.....booting up without the CD....

Ask questions regarding Gentoox, Gentoo and Linux in general in these forums and we'll do our best to help you!
Post Reply
000g
Novice
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2005 2:15 pm

GentooX Home.....booting up without the CD....

Post by 000g » Sat Jan 14, 2006 1:40 am

I have an Xbox running as a Linux server. It's slimmed, so it has no DVD drive. I put the default.xbe in a folder, and I run it as an App from XBMC. It works perfectly.

I just made another V1.0 server using GentooX. ( I downloaded a fresh copy...if that matters). Anyways, on this on, I can't seem to get it to run as an app without the CD. When I click the .xbe, GentooX asks for the bootdisc.....

what am I missing here?

orochi
Gentoox Guru!
Posts: 606
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2004 8:11 am

Post by orochi » Sat Jan 14, 2006 2:24 am

did you install Gentoox to the hard disk?

What .iso did you download?

000g
Novice
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2005 2:15 pm

Post by 000g » Sat Jan 14, 2006 2:34 am

Yes.
I did a native installation to the F:

The one I downloaded was..... Gentoox Home
Description: The Home Edition is slightly bigger than the Pro Edition but it includes all the software you would expect from a well rounded distribution. Remember to run "magic" to keep it up to date!
Version: 4.0 Filesize: 792.45 MB
Added on: 23-Aug-2003 Downloads: 109947

000g
Novice
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2005 2:15 pm

Post by 000g » Sat Jan 14, 2006 2:35 am

Oh, and I even FTP'd the very .XBE I'm running on the working box, over to the box in question....same thing.

000g
Novice
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2005 2:15 pm

Post by 000g » Sat Jan 14, 2006 2:57 am

Solution:

I formatted the F:

Went back, and found my old DVD (that I used on the first server like 3 or 4 months ago), reinstalled Gentoox the exact same way. (both said XBE V5.11).

...now it works.

All is well in this neighborhood.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests