Benefit of installing on 2nd bank of modchip

Ask questions regarding Gentoox, Gentoo and Linux in general in these forums and we'll do our best to help you!
Post Reply
johnbhoy
Linux User
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2005 5:03 pm

Benefit of installing on 2nd bank of modchip

Post by johnbhoy » Wed Dec 28, 2005 11:05 am

Have recently installed this wonderful wee o/s on my 1.6 box. I decided to just install it on my e drive and boot it by executing the gentoox xbe when i wanted to load it. Really just wanted to test if first so ruled out a native install.

My question is.. Is there any benefit of installing the bios on the 2nd bank of my executer modchip......Other than fact it would obviously boot straight away when this bank is selected. Are there any other benefits ??

Incidentally. I would also just like to state what a job well done the whole o/s is. I have been putting off installing something like this for ages as i thought it would be quite taxing. It was,however, effortlessly installed and seems to work a treat, (other than the overscan problem... blinking 1.6 box). The fact Samba shares are set up instantly is a major plus. Especially if you are new to Linux.

orochi
Gentoox Guru!
Posts: 606
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2004 8:11 am

Post by orochi » Thu Dec 29, 2005 3:23 am

unless you have 128mb memory upgrade to your xbox, with your setup, there is no difference to running the xbe vs flashing the .bin

johnbhoy
Linux User
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2005 5:03 pm

Post by johnbhoy » Thu Dec 29, 2005 1:58 pm

Thanks for that.

User avatar
clpalmer
Power user
Posts: 288
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2005 6:38 pm

Post by clpalmer » Fri Jan 06, 2006 3:52 pm

If you somehow screw up the bios flash then it's only your second bank that's non-functional. That way you can change back to your first bank and still boot to try and reflash.

User avatar
ShALLaX
Site Admin
Posts: 1973
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 9:25 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Post by ShALLaX » Sat Jan 07, 2006 2:40 pm

I dont think it makes any difference using the xbe or bin even if you have 128mb of RAM.
The original Xbox adaptation of Gentoo

StickyIckyBud
Novice
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2006 6:20 am

Post by StickyIckyBud » Mon Apr 10, 2006 7:47 am

ShALLaX wrote:Like i said, use the cromwell bios, the .xbe only supports 64mb.
viewtopic.php?t=18&highlight=128+xbe

?

User avatar
ShALLaX
Site Admin
Posts: 1973
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 9:25 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Post by ShALLaX » Mon Apr 10, 2006 1:27 pm

The XBE supports 128mb fine.
The original Xbox adaptation of Gentoo

StickyIckyBud
Novice
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2006 6:20 am

Post by StickyIckyBud » Tue Apr 11, 2006 4:09 am

thanx ;-)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests