Gentoox: ADSL connected, but can't ping IP..why?

Ask questions regarding Gentoox, Gentoo and Linux in general in these forums and we'll do our best to help you!
Post Reply
Loui
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 10:31 am

Gentoox: ADSL connected, but can't ping IP..why?

Post by Loui » Wed Sep 21, 2005 10:52 am

after install Gentoox, I run adsl-setup, adsl-start,
the message showed: "..conneted"~ I am happy~ Very Happy
when i ping an IP, packet always 100% loss....
I look up on google for help, but failed... Confused
please help me!!! What can i do next??
THANKS!!

I connected XBOX with hub, then connect directly to the ADSL modem,
and don't want connet through the PC.
===============================================
The result of if config and route was listed as followed.

Xbox root # ifconfig
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:0D:3A:4B:9B:17
inet addr:192.168.1.13 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:34336 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:43168 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:100
RX bytes:2115083 (2.0 Mb) TX bytes:34454992 (32.8 Mb)
Interrupt:4 Base address:0x5000

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)

ppp0 Link encap:Point-to-Point Protocol
inet addr:61.223.177.78 P-t-P:61.223.64.254 Mask:255.255.255.255
UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP MULTICAST MTU:1492 Metric:1
RX packets:45 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:3 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:3
RX bytes:2274 (2.2 Kb) TX bytes:30 (30.0 b)

Xbox root # route
Kernel IP routing table
Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
61.223.64.254 * 255.255.255.255 UH 0 0 0 ppp0
192.168.1.0 * 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 eth0
loopback localhost 255.0.0.0 UG 0 0 0 lo
default 192.168.1.1 0.0.0.0 UG 1 0 0 eth0

User avatar
clpalmer
Power user
Posts: 288
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2005 6:38 pm

Post by clpalmer » Wed Sep 21, 2005 3:00 pm

Do you have any firewall software installed that might be preventing icmp packets? Have you tried pinging 61.223.64.254?

User avatar
clpalmer
Power user
Posts: 288
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2005 6:38 pm

Post by clpalmer » Wed Sep 21, 2005 3:06 pm

Looks like your default routing sends packets to 192.168.1.1. You should be able to ping 61.223.64.254 and 192.168.1.* (if you have other computers on the hub) but nothing else. You need to set up the default route to point to your gateway (I'm assuming that's 61.223.64.254, as I'm not that familiar with the way adsl works). Try:

Code: Select all

route add default gw 61.223.64.254

I'm not sure if you have to delete the existing default gw first, but if so, try:

Code: Select all

route del default gw
route add default gw 61.223.64.254

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests