'image.bin' not found?!?

Ask questions regarding Gentoox, Gentoo and Linux in general in these forums and we'll do our best to help you!
Post Reply
dsltech_dude
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2005 7:36 pm

'image.bin' not found?!?

Post by dsltech_dude » Tue Aug 30, 2005 7:40 pm

Hey everyone,

I'm trying to install Gentoox on my xbox by flashing the TSOP and then formating the HDD for Linux. I can get the CDR to bootup, but when I go to the flash menu, and select flash. It says 'image.bin' not found. The default .bin is named Loader, so I renamed it and still got the same message. Can I flash the TSOP using the 007auf raincoat savegame. Then I should just be able to pop in the disc and let it format the whole HDD for linux instead of FATX correct?


And if I screw up, I can't use the rescue disc to flash, so any other suggestions?

Thanks,

DSLTech_Dude

dsltech_dude
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2005 7:36 pm

Post by dsltech_dude » Wed Aug 31, 2005 10:50 pm

NVM,

Just flashed using raincoat and the Cromwell BIOS, boots up perfectly now.

I just hope I can reflash if I ever need to.

Thanks,

DT_Dude

Arkano
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 2:15 pm

the same but diferent

Post by Arkano » Wed Sep 21, 2005 6:01 pm

Hey!

I have the same problem with the image.bin file, but i dont want to fix it with the 007 exploit, its posible to fixed it via ftp or something like that? i tried also to put the hd on my pc but i cannot make ir run.

Anyone can help me?

Thanks!

User avatar
ShALLaX
Site Admin
Posts: 1973
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 9:25 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Post by ShALLaX » Thu Sep 22, 2005 9:25 am

You need to make a totally new CD with ONLY a file named "image.bin" on it burned as an iso9660 compliant disc. You then put this disc in the drive after Gentoox Loader has booted up then select the CD flashing option.
The original Xbox adaptation of Gentoo

Arkano
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 2:15 pm

dont work

Post by Arkano » Thu Sep 22, 2005 1:56 pm

Hi again! and thanks for the reply!

I tryed to record as you said to me before, even i tryed with different cdrw, different speeds, diferent bios... nothing :S

Is possible to put the hd on my pc and change the files from there (the hd is not the original) or via ftp?

thank u so much

:)

User avatar
ShALLaX
Site Admin
Posts: 1973
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 9:25 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Post by ShALLaX » Thu Sep 22, 2005 2:06 pm

You can do it via the network flash. Try reading the Gentoox Loader manual its all detailed in there.
The original Xbox adaptation of Gentoo

Arkano
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 2:15 pm

Post by Arkano » Fri Sep 23, 2005 9:35 pm

thank u very much!

Arkano
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2005 2:15 pm

so so dificult

Post by Arkano » Tue Sep 27, 2005 1:48 pm

Hi again!

Im stuck in the same point, i cannot start the installation...

I tryed by net flash ... nothing
ssh ... nothing
ftp ... (the ftp tutorial is a joke?) nothing

so i used this config to connect:

my pc:

192.168.1.12 ip
255.255.255.0
192.168.1.1 gateway

and the xbox is 192.168.1.13

the only thing that i can do is to access via http to the xbox bios page

so, what i do bad? and if nobody knows, how can i put a normal 256 bios (maybe the original?) to have normal access to my xbox?

sorry for the inconveniences and thanks a lot!!!!

User avatar
ShALLaX
Site Admin
Posts: 1973
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 9:25 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Post by ShALLaX » Tue Sep 27, 2005 1:57 pm

The FTP tutorial assumes you are running an FTP server, which you arent. Also, there's no SSH server in Cromwell.

The HTTP page you can access _IS_ the netflash page.
The original Xbox adaptation of Gentoo

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests