Data Rescue and Recovery

Ask questions regarding Gentoox, Gentoo and Linux in general in these forums and we'll do our best to help you!
rprockey
Linux User

Data Rescue and Recovery

Post by rprockey »

My GentooX installation is fsck'd. I don't know how it got so bad and don't really want to spend more hours figuring it all out. The current state is, a failed eth0, USB keyboard not working and the display is unreadable on my 480p TV. Basically my system is inaccessible. It's my fault, I know, I am a bad sysadmin, should RTFM, keep up on updates and all the other things I do day in and day out at work. Please send all rants via IM, there’s no need for that here.

What I am after is some good information, a guide or tutorial, about how get my system into an accessible state so that I can get the precious data from my home and apache directories. Then I can get everything up to date and reinstall with latest versions. Gentoox Pro 1.3 is installed natively on the F: partition. I don't know off hand my version of xecuter mod chip or loader but I will gather that information if relevant and post.

My GentooXbox was configured when Pro 1.3 was the current version approximately one year ago. I have not kept up on the Gentoox updates and news so unfortunately I am green again. Please forgive me; I need a little hand holding here.

Thanks in advance,
R.P.Rockey
-----------------------------------------------------
Xbox v1.1 - x2.3Pro - 120g Barracuda
GentooX Pro v1.3 - Native Install
orochi
Gentoox Guru!

Post by orochi »

how did you install gentoox to your xbox? e: install, f: install, native install?

if it is a e: install, ftp in, move e:\rootfs to f:\rootfs

setup a new install of gentoox
mount your f:\roofs as loopback and read back your data

if it was setup on your f:
do the same as above, but rename f:\rootfs to f:\rootfs
mount your f:\oldrootfs as loopback on your new install