rc-status reports wrong runlevel

Ask questions regarding Gentoox, Gentoo and Linux in general in these forums and we'll do our best to help you!
Post Reply
vxspiritxv
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 8:25 pm

rc-status reports wrong runlevel

Post by vxspiritxv » Wed Jun 22, 2005 8:41 pm

Don't think it should do this:

Code: Select all

Xbox root # rc-status
Runlevel: nonetwork
  nonetwork                                                         [   off   ]
Xbox root #
^-- Thats only thing thats bugging me that I don't know how to fix.

I'm new to gentoox but not gentoo, just thought I would report my findings. Granted I should be running 4.0 right now, its new, and I had a hard enough time getting 3.2 running from the f drive (no space on e). Does running magic essentially make my system 4.0? *I am up to date. Oh and is there any known problems with VNC? I use tightvnc viewer 1.3dev6 and it hangs at "Status: Protocol version negotiated" Think I am going to nuke (unmerge vnc) remove it from xorg.conf in favor of tightvnc package which I run on another machine.

User avatar
clpalmer
Power user
Posts: 288
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2005 6:38 pm

Post by clpalmer » Thu Jun 23, 2005 4:03 pm

Not sure about the runlevel thing, but I use the pre-installed version of vnc and I don't have any problems. However, I only use the web interface, I don't use a client, so I can't say if there's issues there.

User avatar
ShALLaX
Site Admin
Posts: 1973
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 9:25 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Post by ShALLaX » Sun Oct 16, 2005 5:38 am

Never, ever come across that before.
The original Xbox adaptation of Gentoo

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests