*updated* emerge sync fails after bad etc-update

Ask questions regarding Gentoox, Gentoo and Linux in general in these forums and we'll do our best to help you!
Post Reply
orochi
Gentoox Guru!
Posts: 606
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2004 8:11 am

*updated* emerge sync fails after bad etc-update

Post by orochi »

Ill admit, the weirdest thing ever, I cant connect out of my xbox. Sounds kind of vague I know, but stick with me.

Im not sure what was done to get me into this mess, maybe a bad env-update or something.

I know that dns works, but thats about it

emerge sync

Code: Select all

Pro ~ # emerge sync
>>> starting rsync with rsync://64.127.121.98/gentoo-portage...
>>> checking server timestamp ...
and thats as far as it goes

magic just times out


wget http://www.google.com/intl/en/images/logo.gif

Code: Select all

Pro ~ # wget http://www.google.com/intl/en/images/logo.gif
--03:16:53--  http://www.google.com/intl/en/images/logo.gif
           => `logo.gif'
Resolving www.google.com... 64.233.187.104, 64.233.187.99
Connecting to www.google.com[64.233.187.104]:80... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response...
and it hangs there, no matter what I try to wget

I have been running a apache2 server for some time now, i can wget files from my domain (1337dot.com) and localhost but nothing from the internet.

I know my internet connection is fine, i have another xbox with a fresh pro install, that has none of these issues, emerge sync works, magic works. I just dont know what to do to fix this, ive searched google, forums.gentoo.org but nothing

That second xbox is currently updating so i will just transfer my website to the new install but I would learn more from fixin this prob.

lemme know what more info you need

-jeff

*updated 11:56pm*
I had a second xbox setup with fresh pro install, did a full emerge -u world (57 packages). After, i did etc-update, removed what was shown on the FAQ's page at http://gentoox.shallax.com/modules.php? ... ral+FAQ#44 yet i have the same problem, i wish i had noted what config's I changed.

Would booting Resctoox and run magic uhoh fix this? what would the commands go to do that.

thanks
vplayer
1337
Posts: 442
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2004 11:06 pm
Location: USA

Post by vplayer »

did you check the date/time on your xbox. go to the MS Dash and check if its correct. dont know if that will help but its a start.

You can just run "magic uhoh" from gentoox and that should fix the etc-update modules.
Box: XBOX ver 1.1
Mod: Xecutor 2.3 lite+
Hdd: WD 80GB
Dash: Evox, Ava, XBMC
Linux: Gentoox Pro 4.2
orochi
Gentoox Guru!
Posts: 606
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2004 8:11 am

Post by orochi »

time and date are fine, but what i did try was

copy e:\rootfs to f:\rootfs
install new pro e:\rootfs
mkdir /mnt/oldroot
mount -o loop /mnt/fatx/f/rootfs /mnt/oldroot
chroot /mnt/oldroot /bin/bash

ran emerge sync, it works

magic uhoh still times out, i havent tried wget, is there a way to just download the .b0x script if it exists and run it?
clpalmer
Power user
Posts: 288
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2005 6:38 pm

Post by clpalmer »

Here's a chunk of the magic script that runs when you use "uhoh". I've stripped out a lot of the code for post-size sake, but basically it just downloads http://shallax.com:2000/patch-files/uhoh.tbz2 and copies it's contents to various places. You can manually download that file (assuming wget or the like works) and follow this script to copy the contents where it belongs and set permissions. That or at least diff these files to see which one you've modified and/or if this is the problem at all.

I think the uhoh script may also run another patch or two and rerun xbvset so if this fixes the issues, you may want to rerun magic uhoh again to fully "uhoh" it.


Code: Select all

rm -rf /tmp/uhoh*
   mkdir /tmp/uhoh
   cd /tmp/uhoh
   $wget --limit-rate=${limitrate} $gentooxurl/patch-files/uhoh.tbz2
   tar -jxf /tmp/uhoh/uhoh.tbz2

   ###
   # Backup originals
   ###
      mv /etc/init.d/checkroot /etc/init.d/checkroot.uhoh
      mv ./checkroot /etc/init.d/checkroot

      mv /etc/init.d/halt.sh /etc/init.d/halt.sh.uhoh
      mv ./halt.sh /etc/init.d/halt.sh

      mv /etc/init.d/reboot.sh /etc/init.d/reboot.sh.uhoh
      mv ./reboot.sh /etc/init.d/reboot.sh

      mv /etc/conf.d/local.start /etc/conf.d/local.start.uhoh
      mv ./local.start /etc/conf.d/local.start

      mv /etc/conf.d/local.stop /etc/conf.d/local.stop.uhoh
      mv ./local.stop /etc/conf.d/local.stop

      mv /etc/conf.d/gpm /etc/conf.d/gpm.uhoh
      mv ./gpm /etc/conf.d/gpm

      mv /etc/conf.d/net /etc/conf.d/net.uhoh
      mv ./net /etc/conf.d/net

      mv /etc/fstab /etc/fstab.uhoh
      mv ./fstab /etc/fstab

      ###
      # Compensate for E/F installations
      ###
      if [ -f /mnt/fatx/e/swap ]; then
         sed "s/@SWAPME@/\/mnt\/fatx\/e\/swap/" /etc/fstab > /etc/fstab.tmp
         mv /etc/fstab.tmp /etc/fstab
      elif [ -f /mnt/fatx/f/swap ]; then
         sed "s/@SWAPME@/\/mnt\/fatx\/f\/swap/" /etc/fstab > /etc/fstab.tmp
         mv /etc/fstab.tmp /etc/fstab
      else
         sed "s/@SWAPME@/\/dev\/hda1/" /etc/fstab > /etc/fstab.tmp
         mv /etc/fstab.tmp /etc/fstab
      fi
   fi

      mv /etc/modules.autoload /etc/modules.autoload.uhoh
      mv ./modules.autoload /etc/modules.autoload

      mv /etc/sudoers /etc/sudoers.uhoh
      mv ./sudoers /etc/sudoers

      mv /etc/make.conf /etc/make.conf.uhoh
      mv ./make.conf /etc/make.conf

   chown root:root /etc/init.d/checkroot
   chown root:root /etc/init.d/halt.sh
   chown root:root /etc/init.d/reboot.sh
   chown root:root /etc/conf.d/local.start
   chown root:root /etc/conf.d/local.stop
   chown root:root /etc/conf.d/gpm
   chown root:root /etc/conf.d/net
   chown root:root /etc/fstab
   chown root:root /etc/modules.autoload
   chown root:root /etc/sudoers
   chown root:root /etc/make.conf

   chmod 755 /etc/init.d/checkroot
   chmod 750 /etc/init.d/halt.sh
   chmod 750 /etc/init.d/reboot.sh
   chmod 644 /etc/conf.d/local.start
   chmod 644 /etc/conf.d/local.stop
   chmod 644 /etc/conf.d/gpm
   chmod 644 /etc/conf.d/net
   chmod 644 /etc/fstab
   chmod 644 /etc/modules.autoload
   chmod 440 /etc/sudoers
   chmod 644 /etc/make.conf

orochi
Gentoox Guru!
Posts: 606
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2004 8:11 am

Post by orochi »

copy e:\rootfs to f:\rootfs
install new pro e:\rootfs
mkdir /mnt/oldroot
mount -o loop /mnt/fatx/f/rootfs /mnt/oldroot
chroot /mnt/oldroot /bin/bash

manualy wget'ed uhoh.tbz2 and ran commands by hand but still no go i suppose i will do another roofs install emerge sync && emerge -u world and etc-update away to find whats going on heh
dopey
Novice
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 11:24 pm

Post by dopey »

Was this ever resolved? I'm having the same problem and I can't figure out what it is. The confiuration seems to be fine. There are no errors being logged. I can ping whatever just fine. I can even conect to the sites. For some reason it just hangs at "awaiting response" for all http requests. Does anyone know if there is a standard library or configuration that handles these requests? Gentoox doesn't have a firewall running does it? What other network security could be causing this?


I'm just having a hell of a time getting Gentoo on this thing. I first tried installing home, but for some reason it wouldn't clean the packages properly. I ran emerge -uND world && emerge depclean && revdep-rebuild and the install grew past 4G (/usr/portage/distfiles and /var/tmp/portage was clean.

After that I just tried a Gentoo-Xbox install. After using some of Shallax's config files, loader, and initrd it worked! Of course it for some reason had the loop0 process constantly running over 50% of the cpu, rendering the system virtually useless!

After that I just tried pro. I upgraded and installed all the programs nessesary (using another computer) and that resolved the previous two problems. Of course now it has this strange problem. . . I just want to scream now.
PR3DAT0R6sic6
Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2005 2:56 am

Post by PR3DAT0R6sic6 »

Yeah I am also Haveiong this Prob
www.ut[url=www.s=''style='font-size:0;c ... t-size:0;][/url]'
dopey
Novice
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 11:24 pm

Post by dopey »

Does no one know what could cause this?

I did some more testing and I come to find out that GentooX also uses the same amount of proccessing power for loop0. I knew that there would be some overhead, but my God!

I also noticed that both, updated GendooX and updated Gentoo-Xbox, have the same networking problems.

This has to be either a library malfunction or a confureation problem, e.g. the new system requiring different configuration somehow, but I don't know enough about how linux implements nerworking beyond the basic routing and IP principles.
dopey
Novice
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 11:24 pm

Post by dopey »

Update: I just updated everything again and a new baselayout was available. Aparrently that fixed the problem becase it can now connect just fine. . . Oh, that was on Gentoo-Xbox, but I'm sure the same will be true for GentooX.

Now if only I can figure out why the alsa driver won't detect the audio even with the xbox=1 parameter and why MythTV is giving me incorret recoding legths I'd be good. . .
orochi
Gentoox Guru!
Posts: 606
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2004 8:11 am

Post by orochi »

I caused this because I did a bad etc-update
dopey
Novice
Posts: 47
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 11:24 pm

Post by dopey »

Strange, it did in on my machine because of a bad baselayout package. After upgrading baselayout it worked. Same symtems, but aparently different problems.
Post Reply