how the hell do you uninstall Gentoox and MCE?

Ask questions regarding Gentoox, Gentoo and Linux in general in these forums and we'll do our best to help you!
Post Reply
faamason
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2005 9:51 pm

how the hell do you uninstall Gentoox and MCE?

Post by faamason » Wed Jun 08, 2005 10:01 pm

Have MCE and Gentoox Home installed on a 120gb HDD with Matrix modchip

Both the installs are corrupt,

stardust will not run,

Resctoox does not run

Raincoat doesn't work

Have read anything that relates to uninstalling and it plain just will not work

I am left with a crippled Xbox

What else can I try?

vplayer
1337
Posts: 442
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2004 11:06 pm
Location: USA

Post by vplayer » Wed Jun 08, 2005 11:46 pm

do you know what uninstall means.

gentoox uninstall means you delete files if you installed a loopback. If you installed native, then format. how simpler can it get.

or are you mixing up two words install and uninstall. you dont have to search for these things, its there in the manuals,faq and tutorial sections...
Box: XBOX ver 1.1
Mod: Xecutor 2.3 lite+
Hdd: WD 80GB
Dash: Evox, Ava, XBMC
Linux: Gentoox Pro 4.2

faamason
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2005 9:51 pm

Post by faamason » Wed Jun 08, 2005 11:59 pm

Ok let me put it another way, I have already once deleted gentoox off the
HDD which left me with a Cromwell booter that I could not overwrite,

how can I re-flash my bios with another Dash/original XBOX dash?

User avatar
clpalmer
Power user
Posts: 288
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2005 6:38 pm

Post by clpalmer » Thu Jun 09, 2005 2:22 pm

Bios and dash are two different things. To reflash your bios, you'd need a copy of your original bios file. To replace your xbox dash, you'd need a copy of your original xbox dash. You won't find either of these in gentoox, as they're microsoft binaries. Hopefully you backed them up before you installed. You should be able to find info on x-s on how to restore your box assuming you have.

vplayer
1337
Posts: 442
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2004 11:06 pm
Location: USA

Post by vplayer » Thu Jun 09, 2005 3:14 pm

he doesnt need the original bios file, cause he has a mod, but based on his mod he needs to reflash the bios. He should have been able to do it from gentoox loader, but he deleted gentoox so I am not sure I would recommend that. but if you lookup x-s.com you should find info on how to reflash your bios.
Box: XBOX ver 1.1
Mod: Xecutor 2.3 lite+
Hdd: WD 80GB
Dash: Evox, Ava, XBMC
Linux: Gentoox Pro 4.2

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests