Problem with Alsa and Headset

Ask questions regarding Gentoox, Gentoo and Linux in general in these forums and we'll do our best to help you!
Post Reply
althena77
Novice
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2004 10:02 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Problem with Alsa and Headset

Post by althena77 »

Hello!!

I got a Logitech USB 20 Headset for Skype. It is working fine under Gentoox, but only when I update Alsa via "emerge alsa". Seems that te module snd-usb-audio is needed, which is missing with Alsa installed via magic.

However when I emerge Alsa, loading the module snd-intel8x0 fails at startup and I have no sound from the TV speakers anymore.

Is there an way to get both working??
XBox: 1.1
Bios: IND 5003
Gentoox: Home 4.0
Installation: F
RAM: 128 MB
orochi
Gentoox Guru!
Posts: 606
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2004 8:11 am

Post by orochi »

checkout xbox-linux CVS, shallax brought some stuff "back from the cemetery" this shows you how to manually emerge alsa to work with the xbox


http://cvs.xbox-linux.org/viewcvs.py/xb ... /alsaxbox/
althena77
Novice
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2004 10:02 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by althena77 »

Thank you very much for your reply :)

I downloaded the Alsa sources and the Alsa patch for Xbox and did everything exactly like said in the readme:
Step 1: First catch your ALSA
$ wget ftp://ftp.alsa-project.org/pub/driver/a ... .8.tar.bz2

Step 2: Untar
$ tar -jxvf alsa-driver-1.0.8.tar.bz2

Step 3: Patch the sources with the .patch file included.
$ cd alsa-driver-1.0.8; patch -p1 < ../alsa-driver-1.0.8.xbox.patch

Step 4: Configure ALSA suitably
$ ./configure --with-cards=intel8x0

Step 5: Build alsa.
$ make && make install && rmmod snd-intel8x0 xbox=1 && modprobe snd-intel8x0 && modprobe snd-pcm-oss
It worked, but it seems that this does the same as when I install Alsa via magic. Now I can load the module snd-intel8x0 again and have sound from the TV speakers but the module snd-usb-audio is missing again and I can't use my headset :(
Why is the module snd-usb-audio missing when I install Alsa with the patch?? No matter how I install it, it is always the same version 1.0.8??

Code: Select all

diff -ur -N alsa-driver-1.0.8/alsa-kernel/pci/ac97/ac97_codec.c alsa-driver-1.0.8.xbox/alsa-kernel/pci/ac97/ac97_codec.c
--- alsa-driver-1.0.8/alsa-kernel/pci/ac97/ac97_codec.c	2005-01-11 17:44:52.000000000 +0000
+++ alsa-driver-1.0.8.xbox/alsa-kernel/pci/ac97/ac97_codec.c	2005-03-02 21:09:39.000000000 +0000
@@ -1920,10 +1920,14 @@
 	
 	/* test for AC'97 */
 	if (!(ac97->scaps & AC97_SCAP_SKIP_AUDIO) && !(ac97->scaps & AC97_SCAP_AUDIO)) {
-		/* test if we can write to the record gain volume register */
-		snd_ac97_write_cache(ac97, AC97_REC_GAIN, 0x8a06);
-		if (((err = snd_ac97_read(ac97, AC97_REC_GAIN)) & 0x7fff) == 0x0a06)
-			ac97->scaps |= AC97_SCAP_AUDIO;
+		if ((ac97->scaps & AC97_SCAP_DETECT_BY_VENDOR)) { 
+			ac97->scaps |= AC97_SCAP_AUDIO; 
+		} else { 
+			/* test if we can write to the record gain volume register */
+			snd_ac97_write_cache(ac97, AC97_REC_GAIN, 0x8a06);
+			if (((err = snd_ac97_read(ac97, AC97_REC_GAIN)) & 0x7fff) == 0x0a06)
+				ac97->scaps |= AC97_SCAP_AUDIO;
+		}
 	}
 	if (ac97->scaps & AC97_SCAP_AUDIO) {
 		ac97->caps = snd_ac97_read(ac97, AC97_RESET);
XBox: 1.1
Bios: IND 5003
Gentoox: Home 4.0
Installation: F
RAM: 128 MB
Post Reply