Pro 1.5 setup golden, but tmpfs got me beat

Ask questions regarding Gentoox, Gentoo and Linux in general in these forums and we'll do our best to help you!
Post Reply
orochi
Gentoox Guru!
Posts: 606
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2004 8:11 am

Pro 1.5 setup golden, but tmpfs got me beat

Post by orochi » Fri Apr 08, 2005 6:26 am

I recently setup Pro 1.5, with apache mysql php and teamspeak2

Im looking to setup a webcam on my computer that will ftp a picture to gentoox box every 15 sec, however i dont want that much hdd activity. so i want to use a ramdisk, and setup an alias in apache. This is where im stuck.

my /etc/fstab file:
# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
#
# <file system> <mount point> <type> <options> <dump> <pass>
/dev/loop/0 / reiserfs defaults,errors=remount-ro 0 1
proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
/dev/cdrom /mnt/cdrom iso9660 defaults,ro,user,noauto 0 0
/mnt/fatx/e/swap none swap sw 0 0

/dev/hda51 /mnt/fatx/c fatx defaults,noauto,umask=022 0 0
/dev/hda50 /mnt/fatx/e fatx defaults,umask=0000 0 0
/dev/hda55 /mnt/fatx/f fatx defaults,umask=0000 0 0
tmpfs /dev/shm tmpfs size=45k 0 0

picture sizes are only about 24k so a large ramdisk is not needed

i have an alias in /etc/apache2/conf/commonapache2.conf of

Alias /icons/ /var/www/localhost/icons/
Alias /doc /usr/share/doc
Alias /webcam /dev/shm


i try http://www.1337dot.com/webcam/filehere.jpg it does not work but http://www.1337dot.com/icons/a.gif does


do i have the tmpfs setup properly? is that why i can view it in apache? or is it an apache alias problem?

My apologies for grammar and spelling, its late and ive been at setup most of this all day, ive searched around the net and found that fstab entry to add a tmpfs but honestly i dont know much if its proper to use,

thanks,
Jeff V
Last edited by orochi on Fri May 06, 2005 6:01 am, edited 1 time in total.

orochi
Gentoox Guru!
Posts: 606
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2004 8:11 am

Post by orochi » Sat Apr 09, 2005 2:33 am

solved problem,


permissions were set for root on /dev/shm, changed to a folder non root user can access and i also defined the directory with


Alias /webcam /var/www/localhost/camtmp

<Directory "/var/www/localhost/camtmp">
order allow,deny
allow from all
</directory>

updated /etc/fstab to


# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
#
# <file system> <mount point> <type> <options> <dump> <pass>
/dev/loop/0 / reiserfs defaults,errors=remount-ro 0 1
proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
/dev/cdrom /mnt/cdrom iso9660 defaults,ro,user,noauto 0 0
/mnt/fatx/e/swap none swap sw 0 0

/dev/hda51 /mnt/fatx/c fatx defaults,noauto,umask=022 0 0
/dev/hda50 /mnt/fatx/e fatx defaults,umask=0000 0 0
/dev/hda55 /mnt/fatx/f fatx defaults,umask=0000 0 0
tmpfs /var/www/localhost/camtmp tmpfs defaults,size=100k 0 0



df shows
tmpfs 100 32 68 32% /var/www/localhost/camtmp


i would assume everything is correct if it shows 100 1k block size

it works, but if there are better processes to do this please let me know


-jeffv

User avatar
ShALLaX
Site Admin
Posts: 1973
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 9:25 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Post by ShALLaX » Sat Apr 09, 2005 10:53 am

Good job! Not really off topic though! *Moved*
The original Xbox adaptation of Gentoo

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests