128MB RAM Upgrade

Ask questions regarding Gentoox, Gentoo and Linux in general in these forums and we'll do our best to help you!
User avatar
clpalmer
Power user
Posts: 288
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2005 6:38 pm

128MB RAM Upgrade

Post by clpalmer » Tue Mar 22, 2005 4:24 pm

I'd really like to get my hands on a set of ram chips to upgrade to 128MB. ROBzombie mentioned here that you can get the chips from an old "LEADTEK - WINFAST GeForce 2 Pro 64MB AGP 4x". However, the key word in there is "old" =) Anyone know either someone who's still selling those old cards or another cheap way to get the chips.

And yes, I know I can send it to friendtech or the like, but it's $60 + shipping for a few $5 parts I can put in myself.

Trevante
Power user
Posts: 203
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2004 10:21 pm

Post by Trevante » Tue Mar 22, 2005 9:51 pm

Those RAM chips are much more than $5.....

Go to the Buy/Sell/Trade section of the Xbox-scene forums, I believe Perplexer sells the RAM chips for $40 USD. Otherwise, I don't think you're going to find that card anywhere, I searched and I couldn't find anything, not even on ebay.

User avatar
clpalmer
Power user
Posts: 288
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2005 6:38 pm

Post by clpalmer » Thu Mar 24, 2005 10:18 pm

I think I remember seeing somewhere that the chips sell for $5 or $6 bux each. So 4 of em would be under $30. Guess $40 isn't bad for the set. Especially since there's nowhere to buy em cheaper it seems. Unless I can find someone with an otherwise fried old MB to sell me.

User avatar
R0Bzombie
Novice
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Jul 24, 2004 1:31 pm

Post by R0Bzombie » Sun Mar 27, 2005 12:25 am

Here's what I bought http://cgi.ebay.ca/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?Vie ... 5165408551
I desoldered the chips from the video card then solder them onto my v1.0 xbox and it works like a charm.
And yes, I know I can send it to friendtech or the like, but it's $60 + shipping for a few $5 parts I can put in myself.
By the way it's not that easy man
My linux only Xbox:
V1.0
CheapMod
160gig hdd
128mb Ram
Image

User avatar
clpalmer
Power user
Posts: 288
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2005 6:38 pm

Post by clpalmer » Wed Apr 20, 2005 5:30 pm

I have a degree in computer engineering, so the soldering doesn't scare me =) It's just trying to find the damn chips that's a pain.

User avatar
clpalmer
Power user
Posts: 288
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2005 6:38 pm

Post by clpalmer » Wed Apr 20, 2005 6:25 pm

Can anyone provide their experience with the 128MB upgrade? Does it make a big difference in compile time or speed running xfce?

I've got problems with pan (newsgroup reader if you're not familiar with it) at the moment. When I try to load the headers for a newsgroup with a ton of headers (>100,000 or so) it either freezes or crashes. I tried to refresh a group with 750,000 headers and it'll just crash and exit pan somewhere over 600,000. If I try to get say 200,000 of those headers, it'll get all the way to the end of the progress bar, but then freeze (doesn't crash, but won't actually show the group or headers). I'm hoping it's just a problem with pan running out of memory and the 128mb might help. Anyone else use pan and have similar experiences or advice? Or anyone know of another or better graphical newsgroup reader with similar features?

orochi
Gentoox Guru!
Posts: 606
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2004 8:11 am

Post by orochi » Thu Apr 21, 2005 5:04 am

see for yourself:

xbox with 128mb memory:
http://info.shallax.com/index.php
xbox with 64mb memory:
http://www.1337dot.com/phpsysinfo/


pages dont load considerably fast on my xbox/site, but it gets the job done, if my girlfriend would let me, i would get the 128mb

User avatar
clpalmer
Power user
Posts: 288
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2005 6:38 pm

Post by clpalmer » Thu Apr 21, 2005 3:31 pm

Thanks orochi, but those just give me specs. I'm looking more for user experience. Is general usage of xfce (opening apps, doing basic stuff), compiling, etc, really sped up that much by the 128MB or is it only worth it if you have the $30 to spend on the chips?

Found a site that sells em for $30 USD. http://www.xboxabc.com (assuming they're legit)

Can't find another one of those cards anywhere, though. You got a sweet deal ROBzombie =)

orochi
Gentoox Guru!
Posts: 606
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2004 8:11 am

Post by orochi » Fri Apr 22, 2005 5:08 am

heh, I meant those links for user experience this site loads hella fast vs my xbox running with 64mb, I mean my site runs fine, but i cant even run pro+apache+mysql+proftpd+teamspeak2 and im starting to swap. Xfce was unbearable with 64mb, I would assume it would run alot better with another 64mb of memory at its disposal

User avatar
clpalmer
Power user
Posts: 288
Joined: Sat Jan 29, 2005 6:38 pm

Post by clpalmer » Fri Apr 22, 2005 3:24 pm

Ahh, now I get ya. Cool, thanks =) Now just to figure out if I wanna spend $30 for the chips, or $60+ for someone else to do it =)

orochi
Gentoox Guru!
Posts: 606
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2004 8:11 am

Post by orochi » Fri Apr 22, 2005 10:51 pm

yea i've been pondering it as well, as soon as i can manage a box to ship my unit in, i think i might just let friendtech do it. Anyone used them before? anyone have reccomendations?

Trevante
Power user
Posts: 203
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2004 10:21 pm

Post by Trevante » Sat Apr 23, 2005 12:15 am

I hear Perplexer from Xbox-scene is a great guy to do business with, although I think he charges more than Friendtech, but I'm not sure.

Neisius
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 10:46 pm

Post by Neisius » Tue Apr 26, 2005 8:55 am

I just finished my 128mb mod the other day and it's great. I was using ~20mb of swap with just GentooxPro and Folding@Home running and now I have a whole 2mb of free mem! :lol:

I got my chips from appleguru at x-s for $30 shipped:
http://forums.xbox-scene.com/index.php?showtopic=379536

When I first installed them I think I didn't get a few pins 100% stuck down so it sat on my "work table"(air hockey table) for a week or 2 before I got up the nerve to work on it some more. I reheated all the pins and it booted right up.
If I had to do it again I would. I don't think it's worth the $60+ for someone else to do it. You'd miss out on all the fun :D
Image

void513
Newbie
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2005 1:39 am

pricewatch

Post by void513 » Wed Apr 27, 2005 12:10 pm

try http://www.pricewatch.com
theres a good chance u will find one there cheap

Telek
Linux User
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue May 24, 2005 6:30 am
Contact:

Post by Telek » Tue May 31, 2005 1:19 am

I did the 128MB myself too. I really don't like XFCE, so I wanted to use KDE, but it is unusable on 64MB, however it works quite well with 128MB!

I'm still looking for a good source of those chips though...

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest