Can I change the default subnet that resctoox uses?

Ask questions regarding Gentoox, Gentoo and Linux in general in these forums and we'll do our best to help you!
Post Reply
ghostcorps
Linux User
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2005 1:51 am

Can I change the default subnet that resctoox uses?

Post by ghostcorps » Thu Mar 10, 2005 9:36 pm

Rathar than rebuilding our network, is there a way to change resctoox's default subnet? (192.168.1.* => 192.168.0.*) I need to ssh into it as I dont have a keyboard. MY housemate and I have looked throug the forums and come to the conclusion that we can't.. but I thought I'd ask before taking the long way.

=^_^=

User avatar
nobspangle
Gentoox Guru!
Posts: 1681
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2003 11:59 am
Location: Manchester, UK

Post by nobspangle » Thu Mar 10, 2005 10:53 pm

you don't need to change your whole network just the machine you want to use to ssh in with.

I think the only way of changing it would be to extract the iso, edit the network configuration and rebuild.
If you keep an open mind, will your brain fall out?

ghostcorps
Linux User
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2005 1:51 am

Post by ghostcorps » Fri Mar 11, 2005 12:35 am

We tried the first idea but still couldnt connect.. as for editing the network configuration.. where would it be?

Am about to open it up... but I dont like my chances of finding it blind.

ghostcorps
Linux User
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2005 1:51 am

Post by ghostcorps » Fri Mar 11, 2005 2:24 am

.. ummmm scuse me for being dumb.. but after extracting them..what am I suposed to view/edit these files with? even ultra edit brings up a whole bunch of nothing useful.

:?

User avatar
nobspangle
Gentoox Guru!
Posts: 1681
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2003 11:59 am
Location: Manchester, UK

Post by nobspangle » Fri Mar 11, 2005 11:49 am

extact the iso
gunzip the initrd.gz
mount the initrd as a loopback
edit the file etc/rc.d/rc.inet1
unmout the initrd
gzip the initrd
rebuild the iso
If you keep an open mind, will your brain fall out?

ghostcorps
Linux User
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2005 1:51 am

Post by ghostcorps » Tue Mar 15, 2005 8:27 am

Hi

Thanks for the help, we got as far as
edit the file etc/rc.d/rc.inet1
And found this:

Code: Select all

$ mkisofs -o initrd /home/cris/xbox/image
Total translation table size: 0
Total rockridge attributes bytes: 0
Total directory bytes: 0
Path table size(bytes): 10
Max brk space used a1e4
48 extents written (0 Mb)           
$ mdconfig -a -t vnode -f /home/cris/xbox/initrd -u 0
mdconfig: open(/dev/mdctl): Permission denied
$ su
Password:
office#  mdconfig -a -t vnode -f /home/cris/xbox/initrd -u 0
office# ls
image   initrd
office# cd image/
office# ls
office# mount -t cd9660 /dev/md0 /mnt
office# ls
office# cd /mnt
office# ls
office#
what exactly am I suposed to edit? We cant find any network settings :(

=^_^=

ghostcorps
Linux User
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2005 1:51 am

Post by ghostcorps » Fri Mar 18, 2005 6:15 am

still havnt fixed this :(

we figured that
48 extents written (0 Mb)
Is telling us somethgin is wrong.. but still dont knwo what... if it helps this was mounted as a loopback on a BSD machine....?

Thanks again

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests