1.6 box

Ask questions regarding Gentoox, Gentoo and Linux in general in these forums and we'll do our best to help you!
Post Reply
hoover
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2005 4:52 pm

1.6 box

Post by hoover » Tue Mar 08, 2005 4:55 pm

Can linux be installed?

Trevante
Power user
Posts: 203
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2004 10:21 pm

Post by Trevante » Tue Mar 08, 2005 6:02 pm

Yes it works on 1.6's, but you can't get resolution higher than 640x480. In interlaced mode, there's overscan. In progressive mode, there's very little overscan, although you still can't fit much more on the screen.

hoover
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2005 4:52 pm

1.6 xbox

Post by hoover » Tue Mar 08, 2005 7:15 pm

What if i had component cable? do that make a diff?
how hard is it to see in the progressive mode?

hoover
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2005 4:52 pm

1.6 xbox

Post by hoover » Tue Mar 08, 2005 7:16 pm

Also what is the best version to use. home or pro edition?

Trevante
Power user
Posts: 203
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2004 10:21 pm

Post by Trevante » Wed Mar 09, 2005 5:57 am

If you have to ask, you probably want home edition.

Having component cables doens't necesarily mean anything..... it's whether or not the device it's connected to can receive a 480p signal. If you're connecting your Xbox to a TV that doesn't support 480p, then you can't use the component cables.

hoover
Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2005 4:52 pm

1.6 xbox

Post by hoover » Fri Mar 11, 2005 4:47 am

Im using component cable on the xbmc but as soon as i log into linux it goes funny,

Trevante
Power user
Posts: 203
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2004 10:21 pm

Post by Trevante » Fri Mar 11, 2005 6:49 am

It's best not to mention any illegal software here.....

Do you have a HDTV/EDTV? (Basically, is your Xbox hooked up to something that will receive a 480p signal?) If so, then connect your Xbox to your TV using the composite cables, run gentoox, login and run xbvset. Choose HDTV, then 480p and let it reboot. Connect your Xbox to the TV using the component cables and then run Gentoox. It should display in 480p now.

If your TV won't accept 480p signals, then you'll have to use the composite cables for Gentoox.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests