[SOLVED] FATX item gone in Gentoox loader menu.

Ask questions regarding Gentoox, Gentoo and Linux in general in these forums and we'll do our best to help you!
Post Reply
User avatar
Trogdor
Gentoox Guru!
Posts: 553
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2003 9:57 pm
Location: MOUNT TAPE U1439 ON B3, NO RING

[SOLVED] FATX item gone in Gentoox loader menu.

Post by Trogdor » Sat Feb 05, 2005 1:27 am

With no apparent change, with no unclean halt, the FATX item has gone from the Gentoox loader menu. Now there is only Stardust and Advanced. Could some sort of config file be missing from /E:/ ? I have the following gentoox-related files there:
  • gentooxx.xbe
  • initrd.gz
  • rootfs
  • sparkle
  • sprkrd.gz
  • swap
  • vmlinuz
I just upgraded to Loader 5.4, and it hasn't solved itself (it existed with 5.3, but only very recently).
Last edited by Trogdor on Sat Feb 05, 2005 5:08 am, edited 1 time in total.
MOUNT TAPE U1439 ON B3, NO RING

Q: HOW DO I RUN MAGIC ??
A: You run magic by not typing in capital letters.

User avatar
Trogdor
Gentoox Guru!
Posts: 553
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2003 9:57 pm
Location: MOUNT TAPE U1439 ON B3, NO RING

Post by Trogdor » Sat Feb 05, 2005 4:27 am

I notice that there is no linuxboot.cfg in that list. Is that a problem, or is that some old thing no one worries about anymore?
MOUNT TAPE U1439 ON B3, NO RING

Q: HOW DO I RUN MAGIC ??
A: You run magic by not typing in capital letters.

User avatar
Trogdor
Gentoox Guru!
Posts: 553
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2003 9:57 pm
Location: MOUNT TAPE U1439 ON B3, NO RING

Post by Trogdor » Sat Feb 05, 2005 5:07 am

Well, I'll be damned. linuxboot.cfg was mysteriously baleeted, and my server is now up and running.
MOUNT TAPE U1439 ON B3, NO RING

Q: HOW DO I RUN MAGIC ??
A: You run magic by not typing in capital letters.

User avatar
ShALLaX
Site Admin
Posts: 1973
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 9:25 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Post by ShALLaX » Sun Feb 06, 2005 2:23 am

Someone didnt let xbvset run properly after magic was run, did they? ;)

A lot of people have fallen for this (why I dont know, it says xbvset MUST be run)... people just ctrl-c it, so to compensate for user un-intelligence, the loader.b0x file nolonger deletes the file ;p
The original Xbox adaptation of Gentoo

User avatar
Trogdor
Gentoox Guru!
Posts: 553
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2003 9:57 pm
Location: MOUNT TAPE U1439 ON B3, NO RING

Post by Trogdor » Tue Feb 08, 2005 5:29 am

ShALLaX wrote:Someone didnt let xbvset run properly after magic was run, did they? ;)

A lot of people have fallen for this (why I dont know, it says xbvset MUST be run)... people just ctrl-c it, so to compensate for user un-intelligence, the loader.b0x file nolonger deletes the file ;p
Yeah, that could be it. My xbox is my server, and I may have started it up in the morning, started magic, answered all questions, and halt the xbox 4 hours later forgetting about xbvset.

EDIT: In case it wasn't clear, I meant that said "someone" was me.
MOUNT TAPE U1439 ON B3, NO RING

Q: HOW DO I RUN MAGIC ??
A: You run magic by not typing in capital letters.

Bucko
Power user
Posts: 229
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 4:14 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Post by Bucko » Wed Feb 09, 2005 5:24 pm

Ummm happend to me as well, could someone upload linuxboot.cfg for Gentoox Home 3.2 please, thanks. I'm PAL, 1.1.

User avatar
ShALLaX
Site Admin
Posts: 1973
Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 9:25 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Post by ShALLaX » Wed Feb 09, 2005 5:46 pm

Code: Select all

title Im an Idiot
kernel vmlinuz
initrd initrd.gz
append init=/linuxrc root=/dev/ram0 kbd-reset video=xbox:640x480,nohwcursor,hoc=13,voc=13
Use that then run xbvset.

;)
The original Xbox adaptation of Gentoo

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests