HDD

Ask questions regarding Gentoox, Gentoo and Linux in general in these forums and we'll do our best to help you!
Trevante
Power user
Posts: 203
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2004 10:21 pm

Post by Trevante » Sun Feb 06, 2005 1:50 am

It's because you probably have a large F drive (bigger than 137GB). Try running magic, I think Shallax released a patch to recognize large F drives.

Devastator
Novice
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2005 11:35 pm
Contact:

Post by Devastator » Sun Feb 06, 2005 1:53 am

unless it was released today i have the latest magic version and yes my hard drive is 200 gigs lerge.

Devastator
Novice
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2005 11:35 pm
Contact:

Post by Devastator » Mon Feb 07, 2005 7:56 pm

so i ran magic and sync again and it didnt help at all. anything lse i can do??

Devastator
Novice
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2005 11:35 pm
Contact:

Post by Devastator » Fri Feb 11, 2005 4:51 pm

so is there anything else i can do to access my f drive or even be able to save directly to either drives at all?

iccaros
Adept
Posts: 61
Joined: Sat Feb 05, 2005 6:09 am
Location: Wash DC
Contact:

Post by iccaros » Fri Feb 11, 2005 9:37 pm

do a df -k adn see if they are mounted.. if not see you r/etc/fstab adn mount them... try man mount.. to see how the mount command works

Devastator
Novice
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2005 11:35 pm
Contact:

Post by Devastator » Sat Feb 12, 2005 1:09 am

sorry but im not much of a linux user. how do you do all this??

iccaros
Adept
Posts: 61
Joined: Sat Feb 05, 2005 6:09 am
Location: Wash DC
Contact:

Post by iccaros » Sat Feb 12, 2005 2:58 am

ok .. here we go...


open a command prompt.. (terminal)
type:

su -
<enter your root password> hint: its xbox if you did not change it.

type:
df -k

see if you see anything that looks like /mnt/fatx/f
if not .. we need to look at your fstab..

good thing you are on gentoox and we can use the interweb from inside it.

type cat /etc/fstab

past the output to teh fourm.. I do not have a xbox handy (all are compiling in one big massiave love fest right now...:)
so I'll need to see how your dives are listed..

iccaros
Adept
Posts: 61
Joined: Sat Feb 05, 2005 6:09 am
Location: Wash DC
Contact:

Post by iccaros » Sat Feb 12, 2005 3:03 am

ok I got one xbox to stop playing compile tag...

to mount F do this

mount -t fatx /dev/hda55 /mnt/fatx/f -o rw,umask=0,exec


that should work

now on mine I get a bunckh of ????????????????????..?????????????///56?>>>/

when I list F so maybe gentoox has problems reading F

iccaros
Adept
Posts: 61
Joined: Sat Feb 05, 2005 6:09 am
Location: Wash DC
Contact:

Post by iccaros » Sat Feb 12, 2005 3:13 am

this is waht I see on my F
Xbox f # ls -l
÷Y¼>ôÚ¾{Ïùï÷:¼õ6¿?Ðú®ø#¼Ìõ}¿ÜÐQûEù: No such file or directoryX¼<ó¾£Înø
÷Y¼>ôÚ¾{Ïùï÷:¼õ6: No such file or directory
ls: Ý¿½Ñü!ú»:ÀÒýtú[»÷,ÀhÒjý°ú+»å÷IÀ°ÒÆýâúûº<øpÀ: No such file or directory
ls: þIû®ºþø«ÀÓäþûºaùÄÀîÓ;ÿ¿û[ºÇùÓÀ6Ôÿýû2º$úÐÀoÔÓÿ4üþ¹iúÓÀÔþÿ]ü๪úÜÀËÔ: No such file or directory
ls: ๪úÜÀËÔ: No such file or directory
ls: ÇÀFÕ-: No such file or directory
ls: "Îü+¹Åý¨À Ökïüõ¸Nþ|ÀÛÖ³ý¢¸Òþ\À×ñ@ýT¸_ÿFÀd×.rý
¸Úÿ
À×Sý¤·G: No such file or directory
ls: ¤·G: No such file or directory
ls: ¿)ؽýt¶!׿<Ø1ý¶þ: No such file or directory
ls: ôÿòü
¸«: No such file or directory
ÿ#»ûiÅÝÓÿz»âÄÅVÞh¤: No such file or directory
ls: lƽà<i: No such file or directory
ls: î+¼%
Æ$ãõï»A
ÐÅãå´»<
tÅÇâÌ: No such file or directory
ls: úºÿ
,ÄÑá~׺ì
©ÃsáA©ºÍ

á°bº
®Âà°¤=ºE
+Âà[
ºò
Áß¾¹
%ÁýÞ±y¹
·ÀfÞBEH¹ IÀÙÝåõ¸& ö¿_ÝÏ­¸Ä¿: No such file or directory
ls: Áß¾¹
%ÁýÞ±y¹
·ÀfÞBEH¹ IÀÙÝåõ¸& ö¿_ÝÏ­¸Ä¿: No such file or directory
total 4358144
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 0 Feb 12 03:05 help
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 4194304000 Dec 3 2030 rootfs
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 268435456 Dec 3 2030 swap

I cant get to any other files on F except those made by gentoox and when I use other means to get to F (note not gentoox) I see all the files except teh one gentoox put their..

hmmmmmm...

e is fine.. thought..must check my other boxes

Devastator
Novice
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2005 11:35 pm
Contact:

Post by Devastator » Sun Feb 13, 2005 5:04 am

ok so i ran df -k and got this

Filesystem 1K-blocks Used Available Use% Mounted on
/dev/loop/0 4095868 2371464 1724404 58% /
df: `/cdrom': No such file or directory
/dev/loop/0 4095868 2371464 1724404 58% /
/dev/hda50 4998768 1013280 3985488 21% /mnt/fatx/e
/dev/hda55 187498640 157696704 29801936 85% /mnt/fatx/f

then i ran cat /etc/fstab and got this

# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
#
# <file system> <mount point> <type> <options> <dump> <pass>
/dev/loop/0 / reiserfs defaults,errors=remount-ro 0 1
proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
/dev/cdrom /mnt/cdrom iso9660 defaults,ro,user,noauto 0 0
/dev/hda50 /mnt/fatx/e fatx defaults,umask=022 0 0
/dev/hda51 /mnt/fatx/c fatx defaults,noauto,umask=022 0 0
/dev/hda55 /mnt/fatx/f fatx defaults,umask=0000 0 0
/mnt/fatx/f/swap none swap sw 0 0

but i still cant access the f drive it just exits. so i tried mounting the drive again and got this

mount: /dev/hda55 already mounted or /mnt/fatx/f busy
mount: according to mtab, /dev/hda55 is already mounted on /mnt/fatx/f
anything else i can do to fix this?

iccaros
Adept
Posts: 61
Joined: Sat Feb 05, 2005 6:09 am
Location: Wash DC
Contact:

Post by iccaros » Mon Feb 14, 2005 2:43 am

try umount /mnt/fatx/f
then try mounting it.

Devastator
Novice
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2005 11:35 pm
Contact:

Post by Devastator » Mon Feb 14, 2005 4:24 am

cant do it says umount: /mnt/fatx/f: device is busy. any other ideas??

iccaros
Adept
Posts: 61
Joined: Sat Feb 05, 2005 6:09 am
Location: Wash DC
Contact:

Post by iccaros » Mon Feb 14, 2005 5:36 am

yes but I would like some other people to tell mne if this sounds right??

first some questions.. when you tpe cd /mnt/fatx/f
do you get an error?
type ls
what do you see?


if you see something with no error message. type this

echo "this is a test" >> test
then cat test.. do you see your message??

if so but you do not see other stuff put on the drive. I think I knwo what is wrong.

how did you format F

I did not spacificly format F on mine so I don't think mine is formatted correctly. So I need to test this . i'll have a ideal tomarrow.

Devastator
Novice
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2005 11:35 pm
Contact:

Post by Devastator » Mon Feb 14, 2005 8:43 am

ok, no problems running cd /mnt/fatx/f with no error. With ls I get that same file error you were getting and it also lists a bunch questionmarks as it did with yours. I've also notived that for some reasone the f drive only wllors me to read on it, and I seem to only be able to view the files or f wile in konqueror. But I am so fare not able to change the limitations in the properties option.

iccaros
Adept
Posts: 61
Joined: Sat Feb 05, 2005 6:09 am
Location: Wash DC
Contact:

Post by iccaros » Mon Feb 14, 2005 1:24 pm

this is what I am going to try,,
I am going to backup all the stuff on f (this is using other stuff we can not go in to detail about on this board:)

I am then going to see if gentoox will format (mkfs.fatx /dev/hda55)
tehn see if I can 1) read F with no problems write and read and 2) put the other stuff back.


I'll get on that tonight.. AS a matter of fact I have a xbox that I just got a new 160 drive for so Ill do it on that to see if I format F with avacontrol (runs in wine) I can make it work..

nwo tha tI understand your problem adn see I am haveing the same.. I will work on the solutions.. its my stress reducer to haveing to working with windows servers all day...

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests