How can i install gentoox on a softmodded xbox?

Ask questions regarding Gentoox, Gentoo and Linux in general in these forums and we'll do our best to help you!
Post Reply
TheNotoriousBobby
Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2004 2:39 am

How can i install gentoox on a softmodded xbox?

Post by TheNotoriousBobby » Fri Dec 24, 2004 2:43 am

I want to do a ftp install but im totally lost , i mostly want to use firefox?

User avatar
nobspangle
Gentoox Guru!
Posts: 1681
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2003 11:59 am
Location: Manchester, UK

Post by nobspangle » Fri Dec 24, 2004 8:22 am

you rtfm

basic steps
unrar the download with winrar
use winrar to extract the files from the stardust.iso
unrar the distro.rar file with winrar
ftp all the files that were in distro.rar to the root of your xbox E drive
run the gentooxx.xbe file on the xbox
If you keep an open mind, will your brain fall out?

TheNotoriousBobby
Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2004 2:39 am

Post by TheNotoriousBobby » Fri Dec 24, 2004 9:14 am

ok got that but how do i bring up a virtual keyboards or something to type in the pro login?

User avatar
nobspangle
Gentoox Guru!
Posts: 1681
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2003 11:59 am
Location: Manchester, UK

Post by nobspangle » Fri Dec 24, 2004 1:18 pm

you don't

pro has no software installed, it's just a basic gentoo installation.

You can ssh in and execute commands that way, if you want a gui you should install home edition
If you keep an open mind, will your brain fall out?

evilbunny
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2005 1:49 am

Post by evilbunny » Sun Mar 27, 2005 4:49 am

Im am using ur guide to install my linux accept the way i look at it i wont be able to install stuff like counterstrike or ventrilo servers.

Update tried what u said. Didnt work? do i have to have it on its own seperated partition or just in a folder?

User avatar
Schultz
Novice
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2004 1:58 am

Post by Schultz » Sun Apr 03, 2005 1:37 am

evilbunny wrote:Im am using ur guide to install my linux accept the way i look at it i wont be able to install stuff like counterstrike or ventrilo servers.

Update tried what u said. Didnt work? do i have to have it on its own seperated partition or just in a folder?
To install ventrilo i belive you just would have to do
emerge -av ventrilo

But it requires you to download the tar.gz file and place it into a dir for it to do the install.. As they can't host the download.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests