PCSX on Gentoox?

Ask questions regarding Gentoox, Gentoo and Linux in general in these forums and we'll do our best to help you!
skilayers

PCSX on Gentoox?

Post by skilayers »

Hello all,

First of all, let me say that I am a newb when it comes to linux and gentoo(x), but I have a TON of general computer experience (including Mac OS X CLI stuff). I've played with Xebian some, but Gentoox is more to my taste (and the built in VNC in NICE!) Now, I read that you can get a PSX (playstation) emulator running under Xbox Linux that can natively read a playstation CD without having to rip it to bin/cue files.

So...

I tried

Code: Select all

emerge pcsx
and everything seemed to install fine, and the emulator launches, but when I try to run a game I get:

CDR: Could not open /dev/cdrom, working as a null plugin
Xlib:  extension "XFree-DRI" missing on display ":0.0".
Mesa project: www.mesa3d.org
Mesa GLX Indirect
in the terminal and

Could not load Cdrom
in the GUI

This is the list of plugins that emerge installed with PCSX:
Pete's MesaGL Driver 1.1.75
P.E.Op.S. ALSA Audio Driver 1.1.7
Linuzappz X Windows Pad Driver 1.1.6
Linuzappz Cdr Driver 1.1.8
Internal HLE Bios

Can anyone help me out, or point me in the right direction? The general xbox-linux website doesn't seem to have any support forums or I'd ask there.

Thanks,
skinlayers
nobspangle
Gentoox Guru!

Post by nobspangle »

It may be that the emulator requires 3D support which is not available in xbox-linux
If you keep an open mind, will your brain fall out?
Desertboy
Novice

Post by Desertboy »

The emulator doesn't need 3d card it uses a plugin system and there's a software renderer plugin (It's slow on the xbox). I had epsxe running on the xbox but I had to run it 1/4 screen to get decent framerate.

My playstation pad worked fine though using a usb converter I have for my pc.